Stephen F. Austin State University

Political Science

The Department of Government is one of ten departments in the College of Liberal and Applied Arts and is located on the first floor of the Vera Dugas Liberal Arts North Building. Political science is the study of government, public policy and the political behavior of individuals, groups and institutions. There are 15 full-time faculty members in the department from a variety of doctoral universities throughout the country. These individuals have specializations in a number of sub-fields.

Political Science Degree Programs

In choosing a degree track in the department, the student is allowed to pursue either a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree with the general education requirements outlined by the College of Liberal and Applied Arts. A student may select from more than 30 junior- or senior-level courses to fit specific interests and goals that include international relations, comparative government, political theory, law, public administration, or American politics.

Students may major in public administration for either a B.A. or B.S. degree.

For more information, contact the Department of Government at or 936.468.3903.