Stephen F. Austin State University

Teaching Excellence Awards

Teaching Excellence Awards Committee (2017/2018)


Appointed by the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs and consisting of one faculty member from each of the undergraduate colleges, recommended by the academic deans. Two representatives from the Center for Teaching and Learning will serve in ex-officio positions and provide committee support.


The Center for Teaching and Learning will convene the first meeting of the academic year. A Chair will then elected by the committee at the first meeting.




To promote the recognition and celebration of teaching excellence at SFASU. Specifically, the committee will plan and coordinate the annual SFASU Teaching Excellence Awards Convocation and recognition dinner for award winners. Planning will include communication of criteria and dates with the college deans so that each college chooses a winner in a timely manner, campus-wide communication about the convocation, invitations for the event, arrangements (room, food and entertainment) for the convocation and the dinner, and coordination of presentations at the convocation. The Center for Teaching and Learning will serve as the coordinating entity for the committee and TEAC events.

TEAC Committee Members

Name Title Dept/College/Office Term Ends
Dr. Chris Sams
Associate Professor English & Creative Writing 2018/2019
Dr. Casey Hart Assistant Professor Mass Communication 2019/2020
Dr. Marsha Bayless Professor Business Communication & Legal Studies 2017/2018
Dr. Michelle Williams Associate Professor Elementary Education 2019/2020
Dr. Joseph Musser Professor Biology 2019/2020
Dr. Joey Bray Professor Agriculture 2017/2018
Dr. Yanli Zhang Assistant Professor Forestry 2017/2018
Mr. Neal Cox Associate Professor Art 2017/2018
Ms. Kayce Halstead Librarian Library 2019/2020

Center for Teaching and Learning Representatives

Name Title Dept/College/Office
Ms. Mary Smith Interim Director Center for Teaching and Learning
Mrs. Megan Weatherly Instructional Designer Center for Teaching and Learning