Stephen F. Austin State University

New Faculty Orientation Committee

New Faculty Orientation Committee (2019/2020)


Appointed by the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs and consisting of at least one representative recommended by the academic deans, from each of the six colleges and the library. Term positions will begin and end in May.


The first meeting of the academic year will be convened by the Provost office if there is no Chair, and a Chair will be appointed at that meeting by the committee.


Three-year - staggered.


To develop, implement, and assess a year-long orientation program for new faculty members that will help promote and maintain a strong sense of intellectual and social community at SFA. The program is meant to welcome new faculty, to introduce them to SFA, and to help them acclimate and integrate successfully and effectively into the SFA community.

Name Title Dept/College/Office Term Ends
Dr. Bailey Thompson Assistant Professor Mass Communication 2020/2021
Dr. Stephanie Jones Assistant Professor Agriculture 2019/2020
Dr. Drew Thornley Assistant Professor Business Communication & Legal Studies 2019/2020
Dr. Jenny Han Assistant Professor Chemistry 2021/2022
Dr. Brian Barngover Assistant Professor Chemistry 2019/2020
Samantha Inman Assistant Professor


Edward Kownslar Librarian Library 2021/2022
Dr. Slade Billew Assistant Professor Theatre 2019/2020
Dr. Chris McKenna Assistant Professor Business
Communications & Legal Studies
faculty senate rep
Ms. Mary Smith
Assistant Director Classroom Technology ITS 2020/2021
Ms. Megan Weatherly Interim Director Center for Teaching & Learning 2020/2021
Becky Garrett

HR Representative

Human Resources 2021/2022