Stephen F. Austin State University

Faculty Development Leave

Faculty Development Leave Committee (2018/2019)


Appointed by the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs and consisting of seven elected, full-time faculty members, one from each academic college and one from the Library. Elections will be held within each college.


Provost convenes and attends first meeting of the academic year, when there is no Chair. The committee then elects the Chair at this meeting.


Two-year, staggered


To make recommendations on applications from full-time faculty members for Faculty Development Leave for additional study or for research and writing for a period of either one semester at full pay or a full year at half pay.

Name Title Dept/College/Office Term Ends
Dr. Craig Morton Associate Professor Forestry 2018/2019
Dr. Calee Jo Holcombe Assistant Professor Accounting 2018/2019
Dr. Josephine Taylor Professor Biology 2018/2019
Dr. Deborah Buswell Associate Professor Kinesiology 2018/2019
Dr. Jacob Walburn Assistant Professor Music 2019/2020
Dr. Court Carney
Professor History 2018/2019
Edward Kownslar Head of RIS Library 2019/2020