Stephen F. Austin State University

Regents Professor

2015/2016 Regents Professor

The title of Regents Professor is the highest honor that the university may bestow upon a member of the faculty. The honor is reserved for faculty members who are exemplary role models to the university community. The title of Regents Professor is not an academic rank and is held for one year.

Full details can be found in Regents Professor Policy (A-38)

Regents Professor (A-38)

Dr. Ray Darville

Dr. Ray Darville was awarded the honor of becoming the 2015-2016 Regents Professor at the April 2015 board meeting. Dr. Darville will serve as Regents Professor starting fall semester, 2015.

Dr. Ray Darville has been teaching sociology at SFA since 1988.

He earned his Bachelors of Arts from East Texas Baptist College, his Master of Arts from Stephen F. Austin State University, and his Ph.D. from North Texas State University.

Previous Regents Professors


Regent Professor

2015-2016 Dr. Ray Darville
2014-2015 Dr. Tim King
2013-2014 Dr. Harry Downing
2012-2013 Dr. Brian Oswald
2011-2012 Dr. Jimmie Yeiser
2010-2011 Dr. Hans Williams
2009-2010 Dr. Tom Segady
2008-2009 Dr. John Moore
2007-2008 Dr. Leon Young
2006-2007 Dr. Allen Richman Dr. David Creech
2005-2006 None Awarded
2004-2005 Dr. Sandra McCune Dr. Sammie Smith
2003-2004 Dr. Suzy Weems Mr. Charles D. Jones
2002-2003 Ms. Mary McCleary Dr. Robert Szafran
2001-2002 Dr. Anna Bradfield Dr. Michael Legg
2000-2001 Dr. Norman Markworth Dr. Leonard Cheever
1999-2000 Dr. Scott Bills Dr. James Corbin
1998-1999 Dr. Tom Callaway Dr. Mingteh Chang
1997-1998 Dr. Mel Finkenberg Dr. Jose Rodriguez
1996-1997 Dr. David Kulhavy Dr. Jere Jackson
1995-1996 Dr. James Kroll Dr. Donnya Stephens
1994-1995 Dr. James Towns Dr. Syliva McGrath
1993-1994 Dr. Vinay Kothari Dr. Elvia Rodriguez
1992-1993 Dr. Bobby Johnson Dr. James DiNucci
1991-1992 Dr. Gloria Durr Dr. E. Donice McCune
1990-1991 Dr. Francis E. Abernethy Dr. Thomas J. Stanly
1989-1990 Dr. Lynnette Solomon Dr. William Young
1988-1989 Dr. James G. Dickson Dr. Dillard Tinsley
1987-1988 Dr. David Petty Dr. Neal Houston
1986-1987 Dr. David W. Jones Dr. Elray Nixon
1985-1986 Dr. Archie McDonald Dr. Victor Bilan
1984-1985 Mr. William E. Arscott Dr. Alfred S. Shivers
1983-1984 Dr. June Irwin Dr. Donald Beason
1982-1983 Dr. Walter Robertson Dr. Dan Beaty
1981-1982 Dr. William Cozart Dr. Jack McCullough
1980-1981 Dr. James Garrett Dr. Robert S. Maxwell