Skip to main content

Review the list below to discover which departments have research and creative discovery opportunities embedded as part of a course. If interested in any of these courses or programs, check with your academic advisor and the program chair to ensure the course you would like is available. 

Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

Sheryll Jerez
jerezs@sfasu.edu
936.468.6614

College of Fine Arts

Lauren Selden
lselden@sfasu.edu
936.468.4183

College of Liberal and Applied Arts

Mark Barringer
mbarringer@sfasu.edu
936.468.2184

College of Sciences and Mathematics

Michael Janusa
janusama@sfasu.edu
936.468.3606

James I. Perkins College of Education

Eric Jones
jonesej@sfasu.edu
936.468.1864

Nelson Rusche College of Business

Ryan Phelps
phelpsrt@sfasu.edu
936.468.1501

Faculty Department and Topics List

If research and creative discovery is within your interest, but there are no opportunities within your field to conduct research as part of a course, you may still elect to participate in faculty-mentored research and creative discovery projects outside of class. Working toward a project outside of class, while not for course credit, can be a great résumé builder. The table below will help you find faculty who may be able to help you design and conduct research and creative discoveries outside of class.

Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

Stephanie Jones
Agriculture
jonessl19@sfasu.edu

Brian Oswald
Forestry
boswald@sfasu.edu

College of Fine Arts

Angela Bacarisse
School of Theatre
Costume Design
abacarisse@sfasu.edu

Amanda Breitbach
School of Art
breitbaca@sfasu.edu

Jill Carrington
School of Art
jcarrington@sfasu.edu

Tod Fish, associate choral director
School of Music
fishtod@sfasu.edu

Lauren Selden
School of Art
lselden@sfasu.edu

Scott Shattuck, associate dean
School of Theatre
shattucksh@sfasu.edu

Gary T. Wurtz, director
School of Music
gwurtz@sfasu.edu

College of Liberal and Applied Arts

Perky Beisel
History
pbeisel@sfasu.edu

Jose Carbajal
Social Work
carbajalji@sfasu.edu

Darrel McDonald
Anthropology, Geography and Sociology
dmcdonald@sfasu.edu

Samuel Sutherland
History
sutherlas@sfasu.edu

Michael Tkacik, director
Government; School of Honors
International Security, International Relations and the Rise of China
mtkacik@sfasu.edu

College of Sciences and Mathematics

Matthew Beauregard
Mathematics and Statistics
beauregama@sfasu.edu

J. Brannon Gary
Chemistry
garyjb@sfasu.edu

Keith Hubbard
Mathematics and Statistics
hubbardke@sfasu.edu

Jane H. Long
Mathematics and Statistics
longjh@sfasu.edu

Norman Markworth
Physics, Engineering and Astronomy
nmarkworth@sfasu.edu

Stephen Mullin
Biology
Behavioral and Community Ecology
sjmullin@sfasu.edu

Kefa Onchoke
Chemistry
onchokekk@sfasu.edu

Controller

Cody Scott, Accounting Assistant III
scottcb2@sfasu.edu

IT Services

Kreg Mosier, Systems Programmer II
kmosier@sfasu.edu

James I. Perkins College of Education

Judy A. Abbott, dean
Education
abbottj@sfasu.edu

Jillian M Dawes
Human Services
Academic and Behavioral Intervention and Consultation
dawesj@sfasu.edu

Jim Ewing
Elementary Education
ewingjs@sfasu.edu

Flora Farago
Human Sciences
Human Development and Family Studies
faragof@sfasu.edu

Lynda Martin
Human Sciences
martinlj@sfasu.edu

Mary Olle
Human Sciences
ollemary@sfasu.edu

James Rowe
Kinesiology and Health Science
rowej@sfasu.edu

Le'Ann Solmonson
Human Services
lsolmonson@sfasu.edu

Library

Tina Oswald, Reference Librarian
toswald@sfasu.edu

Linda Reynolds, director
East Texas Research Center
lreynolds@sfasu.edu

Nelson Rusche College of Business

Ryan Phelps
Economics and Finance
phelpsrt@sfasu.edu

Laurie Rogers
Business Communications and Legal Studies
rogerslauri@sfasu.edu

Office of Research and Graduate Studies

Pauline Sampson, dean
sampsonp@sfasu.edu

Residence Life

Sarahina Borgia, hall director
borgiasd@sfasu.edu

Stone Fort Museum

Carolyn Spears, curator
cspears@sfasu.edu

Student Learning and Institutional Assessment

Paul Henley, assistant director
henleypt@sfasu.edu

Contact

Office of Research and Graduate Studies
936.468.2807
Fax: 936.468.7369

Graduate Studies: gschool@sfasu.edu
Grants and Sponsored Programs: orsp@sfasu.edu

Physical Address:
404 Aikman Drive
Dugas Liberal Arts North
Nacogdoches, Texas

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 13024, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, Texas 75962

Request Information for Future Students

Please fill out the form below to receive information from SFA. If you’re not a future student and want to reach out to us, use our contact form.

Fields marked with * are required.

Who are you?*

Date of Birth*

Mailing Address (Be sure to add your apt. or unit # or P.O. Box, if applicable)*

When would you like to attend SFA and what will be your major?

Are you any of these types of students?