Stephen F. Austin State University

Holiday Schedule

Thirteen holidays are allowed by the State for 2018-2019. The following schedule allows SFA to be closed for five working days at Thanksgiving, seven working days during Christmas, five working days during Spring Break, Memorial Day, and Independence Day, which totals nineteen days.

Employees are required to take two days of vacation or compensatory time on November 19 and 20, two days of vacation or compensatory time on December 28 and 31, and two days of vacation or compensatory time on March 21 and 22.

The following are the holidays to be observed by SFA during the FY 2019:

November 19-23 Thanksgiving Break (November 19 and 20 vacation or comp days)
December 24 - January 1 Christmas Break (December 28 and 31 vacation or comp days)
March 18-22 Spring Break (March 21 and 22 vacation or comp days)
May 27 Memorial Day
July 4 Independence Day

*Employees may observe Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Cesar Chavez Day and/or Good Friday, in lieu of any one or more of the holidays on the University schedule. Employees wishing to substitute holidays should make arrangements with their supervisor for making up lost time.