Stephen F. Austin State University

Chair's Council

Chairs' Council

The Chairs' Council of the College of Liberal & Applied Arts consists of all the chairs of the college and serves as an advisory body to the dean of the college. It will meet with the dean of the college at least once per month during the fall and spring semesters, but the dean may call it into session at other times. In the absence of the dean, meetings will be chaired by the associate dean. The Chairs' Council has four major functions:

  1. The Chairs' Council may propose college policy or assist the dean in the development of policy. As the chief executive of the college, the dean is responsible for fostering excellence in teaching, research, and service in the college. Given that role, the dean is the officer primarily responsible for policy development at the college level (SFASU Policy E-13A, Duties and Responsibilities of Offices Reporting to the V.P. for Academic Affairs).
  2. Before any policy is adopted for the college, the Chairs' Council should review the proposed policy and provide feedback to the dean on how effectively the policy will foster excellence in teaching, research, and service. In the course of its review, the Chairs' Council may suggest amendments to the proposed policy. The final decision on whether or not the policy, or any part thereof, is adopted will be the dean's.
  3. The Chairs' Council, when requested by the dean, assists the dean in interpreting university policy and determining how that policy is to be implemented at the college level. Since the chairs are the chief executives of their departments and must themselves often interpret administrative policy to faculty and students (SFASU Policy E-10A, Departmental Administration), the smooth functioning of the college will be promoted if the dean makes frequent use of the Chairs' Council for this purpose in other than routine matters.
  4. The Chairs' Council serves as a means by which information essential to the academic mission of the university is disseminated up and down the administrative chain.
  5. A member of the Chairs' Council may attend meetings of the College Council to facilitate the exchange of information between the two bodies.

Meeting Information


2018 |2-5|3-5|4-2|5-7|

2017 |5-1|11-6|12-4|

2016 |2-01|3-07|4-4|5-02|9-12|10-03|11-07|12-5|

2015 |3-2|4-6|5-04|9-14|11-14|12-07|

2014 |4-7|9-8|11-3|

2013 |2-04|3-04|4-01|5-06|6-03|9-09|10-7|11-4|

2012 |2-06|3-05|4-16|5-9|9-10|10-1|11-5|12-3|

2011 |2-07|3-07|4-04|5-05|9-07|10-17|11-07|

2010 |2-01|4-12|5-10|9-07|11-01|12-06|

2009 |2-02|4-06|5-04|9-18|11-02|

2008 |9-08 |11-03|12-08|

2007 |8-29|10-01|12-10|


Department Chair E-mail

English & Creative Writing

Dr. Matthew McBroom (Interim)


Dr. Kwame Antwi-Boasiako


Dr. Troy Davis

Languages, Cultures & Comm.

Dr. Jeana Paul-Urena

Mass Communication

Dr. John Hendricks

Military Science

Major James Attaway

Multidisciplinary Programs

Associate Dean Joyce Johnston


Dr. Scott Hutchens

Social & Cultural Analysis

Dr. Ray Darville

Social Work

Dr. Freddie Avant