Stephen F. Austin State University

Award for Outstanding Excellence

OIT Award for Outstanding Excellence in Online Education

The Office of Instructional Technology offers an annual award known as the OIT Award for Outstanding Excellence in Online Education. Award recipients are selected based on evidence of excellence in the design and delivery of nominated courses and support of his or her department chair. Courses are judged based on excellence in the areas of clarity of instructions, look and feel, ease of navigation, interaction strategies, lesson design, accessibility, innovation, and adherence to copyright and intellectual property laws. Up to three full-time or adjunct faculty members may be awarded annually.

This honorable award includes a sponsorship covering travel and registration expenses to attend a professional development event related to distance education. The event must be approved by the Office of Instructional Technology and must be attended within one calendar year of the award.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must be full-time or adjunct faculty for SFA and be certified by the Office of Instructional Technology as a Certified Online Instructor. To be considered for the award, faculty must nominate one specific course section that they have developed for online delivery by submitting this completed form. The course must be currently approved by the Office of Instructional Technology for online delivery at SFA, and must have been taught online by the course developer within the past two years. The nominating faculty member should complete all parts of the form except the department chair signature. Faculty must document the department chair's support by having him or her sign the nomination form.

Nomination forms are accepted from March 15 through April 25.

Nomination Form

2013 Award Recipients

Pictured left to right are Janet Kamps, OIT Distance Education Coordinator, Dr. Heather Olson-Beal, Patricia Sharp, Dr. Randy McDonald, Director of Instructional Technology and Distance Education.

2012 Award Recipients

photo of the 2012 award recipients

Pictured are OIT Director, Dr. Randy McDonald, recipients Dr. Tara Newman, Dr. Lesa Beverly, and Megan Weatherly, OIT Distance Education Coordinator, Janet Kamps, and SFA Provost, Dr. Ric Berry.