Charles Christopher ’64 and ’66 of Cedar Park is assisting in developing a process to remove CO2 from natural gas and power plant exhaust at costs far below other processes. Following more than 50 years in the oil industry, he first retired in 2007 and began a consulting practice before moving to Austin in 2012.


Bill Owens

Former Colorado Gov. Bill Owens ’73 of Denver, Colorado, has joined the international law firm Greenberg Traurig as senior director in the Government Law and Policy Practice. He will advise and assist clients on capital infrastructure projects and public policy matters.

Dr. Danny Paul Windham DDS, ’75 of Center was chosen by the Panola College Alumni Association as the 2015 Panola College Alumnus of the Year.

Dr. Laura I. Hodges ’79 and ’98 of Dickinson is employed by Region 10 ESC as counselor for the Texas Virtual School Network.

Ramona D. Marek ’79 and ’85 of Vancouver, Washington, is now a freelance writer and author after teaching special education for 20 years. She has published numerous national and international print and digital publications.


William E. Oates ’81 of College Station was recognized as a Texas A&M University System Regents Fellow Service Award recipient for 2014-15.

Gil Baumgarten ’82 of Houston is founder and president of Segment Wealth Management, which was named to the Financial Times 300 Top Registered Investment Advisers.

Diana LaRocca ’82 of Plano was appointed chief marketing officer for Dickey’s Barbecue Restaurants.

Dr. Timothy B. Jones

Dr. Timothy B. Jones ’83 and ’00 of Dallas published his second book, “Harnessing the Dynamics of Public Education: Preparing for a Return to Greatness” in October.

Kevin Layne ’83 of Austin competed in the 2016 Longhorn Racquetball Tournament in Austin.

Michele Bauman Joseph ’87 of Houston is head of school for the Gateway Academy in Houston.

Connie Page Miserak ’88 recently was named both Prosper High School Teacher of the Year and Prosper ISD Teacher of the Year. She has been with the district since 2010 and worked to build a district-wide choral program.


John Ryder ’90 of New Caney was elected to the Roman Forest city council.

Kimberly Murphy ’91 was named principal of Bullard Primary School—a new campus within Bullard ISD that will be completed for the 2016-17 school year.

Cheryl Reinke ’91 and ’92 of San Antonio was named 2016 Teacher of the Year at Fair Oaks Ranch Elementary School in Boerne ISD, where she serves as K-5 literacy leader and reading specialist.

The Bullard ISD Board of Trustees named Amy Bickerstaff ’92 as Bullard Intermediate School principal.

Kelly Traylor ’92 of Jacksonville, Texas, serves as Cherokee County Precinct 1 commissioner.

Dr. Logan Faris ’93, ’96, ’03 and ’06 of Haslet was named executive director of secondary education for the Northwest ISD.

Dr. Larry R. Hygh Jr. ’97 and ’99 of Sacramento, California, is the director of communications for the California-Nevada Conference of the United Methodist Church.

Amy Harper

Amy Harper ’98 of Dallas was named Dallas Market Center vice president of marketing, apparel and accessories. Harper was president of the Fashion Merchandising Club during her time at SFA. She also has visited the campus to speak with students and hosted SFA fashion merchandising students for market tours.


Paul Knowles ’00 of Steamboat Springs, Colorado, was named assistant director for the Museum of Northwest Colorado.

Group photo

Long-time college friends, from left, Stephanie Bradford Ward ’02, John Chilcoat ’03 and Robyn Roehn Chilcoat ’03, made a return trip to SFA to visit the campus for the first time in several years.

Stephen Campbell ’03 and ’05 of Cincinnati, Ohio, won a position in the Lexington Philharmonic. He was recently a featured soloist and principal trumpeter in a performance of Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Piano Concerto No. 1.”

Scott Carver ’03 of Maumelle, Arkansas, was named director of sales for AT&T in Arkansas and was one of 58 executives selected to serve on Leadership Arkansas, a program designed to take a comprehensive view of the economic and political challenges that face the state.

Hardy C. Meredith ’04 of Bryan was promoted to newsroom assignments coordinator at KBTX-TV in Bryan/College Station. He also produces News 3 at Five.

Quinten Boyd ’07 of Naples, Texas, is a managing editor and sports editor for the Cherokean Herald in Rusk.

Dr. Thomas A. (Tommy) Wallis ’07 of Bryan/College Station serves as Bryan ISD’s superintendent, a position he has held since 2011.

Neal Cooper Kuban

Matt Kuban ’08 and wife, Brette ’09, had their first son, Neal Cooper Kuban, on Oct. 1, 2015. At just a couple months old, Neal gave the Lumberjack salute.

Kellie Farr ’09 of Lufkin gave the keynote address at an SFA James I. Perkins College of Education luncheon. She addressed the college’s core values, specifically how they have positively influenced her teaching.

Trevor Smith ’09 of Prosper began his own company, Elevate Healthcare Consultants, with two partners. The company, a health care recruitment agency, has grown to 15 members in its first six months.


Christine Broussard ’10 of Nacogdoches recently joined the SFA University Marketing Communications office after working for nearly four years as a reporter for The Daily Sentinel in Nacogdoches.

Kasi Dickerson ’13 and ’15 of Van recently graduated with her Master of Arts in mass communication and began working as a senior marketing communications specialist for SFA.

Michelle McDaniel ’13 of Houston is the continuing education coordinator in the Department of Epidemiology, Human Genetics and Environmental Sciences at The University of Texas Health Science Center School of Public Health.

Kaleigh Cox Thompson ’14 of Nacogdoches recently won the Newcomer of the Year Award at Lufkin ISD’s Slack Elementary.

Rachelle Paige Miller ’15 joined the Tyler office of Henry and Peters as a staff associate. She completed SFA’s five-year accounting program in May, receiving both bachelor’s and master’s degrees.