Barry Nelson

Barry Nelson, a 1971 graduate of SFA and secretary of the university’s Board of Regents, passed away Nov. 8 in Dallas. Nelson was born June 18, 1949, in Billings, Montana.

Nelson began his commercial real estate career in Houston. In the early 1980s, he moved his family to Dallas, where he developed some of the city’s most iconic office buildings, including Fountain Place and Spectrum Center.

In 2013, Nelson was appointed to the Board of Regents, a position for which he had great passion, pride and commitment. As chairman of the Building and Grounds Committee, Nelson’s expertise was invaluable during the planning stages of the Ed and Gwen Cole STEM Building, which is currently under construction.

Nelson served as an executive advisory board member for the SFA Nelson Rusche College of Business. He was a board member for the Dallas Business Development Corporation and a past executive committee member for the Dallas Real Estate Council.

Greg Talton Harber

Greg Talton Harber, a 1979 and 1994 SFA graduate and computer science instructor, passed away Sept. 2. Harber was born on Nov. 1, 1957, in Lufkin. He taught a variety of courses at SFA focusing on computer architecture, networking, system administration, computer literacy, web development and ethics. Before arriving at SFA, he taught at secondary schools, managed restaurants and hotels, and was a drilling fluids engineer in the oil industry.

Gary Bob Workman

Gary Bob Workman of Spring passed away March 16, 2016. Workman was born April 5, 1950, in San Angelo. He graduated from Spring Branch High School in Houston and was a 1972 graduate of SFA with a degree in management. Workman completed certifications from Texas Tech School of Banking and The American Institute of Banking.

His career began in East Texas as the manager of a credit union. Later, he served as vice president of Fredonia State Bank in Nacogdoches and president of Victoria Bank and Trust in Bastrop until he changed career paths and entered the insurance business with Texas Farm Bureau. He began as an agent and quickly advanced to become agency manager and then district sales manager, a position he acquired in 1998.

Workman received several notable achievements during his career, including being honored as a member of the Century Club, Round Table and as a Master Agent. In 1998, the Bastrop Chamber of Commerce named Workman “Man of the Year.” Workman served for many years on the SFA Alumni Association’s Board of Directors. A member of the Jaycees, he served as president, vice president and director. He was awarded “Outstanding Jaycee of the Year” twice. Workman also served as program director for the Nacogdoches County Civic Center and was instrumental in raising funds for the construction of the Nacogdoches Rodeo Arena. He was a Calvary Episcopal Church Vestry member and Ministries in Worship committeeman.

In Memoriam

Name Class Hometown Date
Travis Amie 1977 Lufkin July 22
Royce Anderson 1965 Carthage June 9
Carolyn Blankenship 1952 Corpus Christi July 24
James W. Blount 1965 Tomball Sept. 16
J. Hoyt Bowers 1964 Plainview May 25
Kenneth M. Briegel Jr. 1973 Naperville, Illinois July 23
Clayton L. Brooks Jr. 1975 Garland Oct. 4
Robert W. Cox 1965 Huntsville Sept. 27
Robert S. Crow Jr. 1956 Nacogdoches July 24
Alfred E. Danheim Jr. 1950 & ’61 Alto Sept. 6
James Taylor “Jimmy” Daniels 1971 Nacogdoches Aug. 3
Arlene L. Davis 1967 Shreveport, Louisiana July 2
Charles W. DeYoung 1972 Hamshire July 23
Willie K. Doty 1987 Pearland July 30
Nancy A. Drawhorn 1955 San Augustine Sept. 19
Harold R. Fahrenthold 1966 Houston Sept. 19
B.C. Fenley Jr. 1961 Houston July 30
Roberta S. Frame 1974 Pearland May 20
Arturo Gonzales 1977 Galveston June 23
Judge Gerald A. Goodwin 1966 Lufkin Aug. 3
Billie Grimes 1976 Gary Sept. 24
Mary N. Grimland 1968 Nacogdoches Aug. 28
James (Jim) Franklin Havard Friend of SFA Huntington July 7
Diana E. Hensley 1982 & ’96 Nacogdoches June 29
Jenny L. Heuer 1984 Mansfield July 21
Dianne N. House 1991 & former SFA instructor Nacogdoches Sept. 23
James A. Jones 1966 & ’73 Lufkin Aug. 23
Christopher Ryan King 2005 Nacogdoches Aug. 16
Lewis Richard McCarroll Jr. 1965 Austin June 25
Clyde E. McClatchey 1958 & ’66 Midlothian July 1
Elizabeth A. McDaniel 1978 Dallas July 1
Ralph McKinney 1950 Franklin Sept. 3
Kristi B. McLain 1989 Nacogdoches July 24
Robert James Mechler 1970 Houston Sept. 10
Ninfa Middleton 1980 & ’81 Brownsville July 27
Rodger D. Moake 1974 Rusk July 5
Peggy Mullinix 1965 Jacksonville, Texas Oct. 7
Thomas Marion “Coach” Neill 1959 Broaddus Aug. 5
Corine C. Odom 1964 Kilgore June 20
Karon J. O’Neal1986CarthageJuly 3
Don Bruce Richards Friend of SFA Cushing Sept. 11
Philip A. Roos 1976 Marshall Oct. 6
William J. Rushing 1949 Dearborn Heights, Michigan Sept. 1
Ezem G. Scarborough Jr. 1965 Palestine July 1
Bennie M. Tindall 1958 & ’60 Grapevine Aug. 6
Dale L. Tindall 1970 San Augustine July 8
Cecil Allen “Bud” Townley 1970 Crestview, Florida June 20
Gary G. Warren 1972 East Baldwin, Maine July 28
Blitz Womack 1968 Lufkin July 6