Polly ’67 and Grover Belcher ’69 of Deer Park recently celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary. Polly retired after 30 years of teaching. Grover retired after 44 years as a teacher, coach and administrator. They celebrated their golden anniversary by taking their family members, including nine grandchildren, on a Disney cruise.


Ann Connor ’73 of Palestine announced her candidacy for Palestine City Council District 6. Connor has lived in Palestine for 12 years. She graduated with honors from SFA as the highest-ranking senior in her graduating class.

Robin Dawley ’77 of Nacogdoches was elected Nacogdoches County Precinct 3 commissioner.


Robert “Rusty” Brockman ’83 of New Braunfels is chair of the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority Board of Directors.

James L. Stotts III ’84 & ’88 and Susan Radven Ross ’85 & ’92 of Magnolia were married Dec. 19.

Hunter Art

Lance Hunter ’87 of Tahlequah, Oklahoma, received the Best of Show Award in the Pittsburgh Watercolor Society’s 70th annual International Exhibition, Aqueous Open 2016. Hunter is a professor of art at Northeastern State University.

Cynthia Lemke ’87 of Keller is a journalism teacher and student newspaper advisor at Keller High School in Keller ISD.



Dr. Stu Musick ’90 of Navasota was named the superintendent of schools for Navasota ISD.

Lawrence “Trey” Homan ’91 & ’95 of San Antonio is the executive director of Professional Photographers of San Antonio, president of the Texas Professional Photographers Association and president of charities for the Professional Photographers of America. During his time at SFA, he was a member of Phi Mu Alpha and served as chapter president in 1990. He began working in photography in 1998 with his wife, Elizabeth.

Kurt Bouillion ’92 of Houston earned his juris doctorate from South Texas College of Law Houston.

Clarinetist Master Sgt. Vicki Gotcher ’93 of Virginia performed during the inauguration of President Donald Trump as a member of the “President’s Own” United States Marine Band.

Dana Parr ’96 of Longview has been selected by the Independent Insurance Agents of Texas to serve on its Agency Managers Advisory Council.

The Rev. Deborah Daniels Calhoun ’97 of Indianapolis was honored in November as Indiana’s outstanding biology teacher during the National Association of Biology Teacher’s Professional Conference held in Denver, Colorado.

Randy Bass ’99 of Huntsville and Patricia Brown-Vidito ’01 of Houston were promoted to sergeant at the Lone Star College Police Department in January.


Jesse Wright ’00 of Port Arthur became editor of The Port Arthur News with more than 17 years of journalistic and newspaper experience.


Derek ’01 and Holli Snyder ’06 of Nacogdoches added to their Lumberjack family Aug. 16 with the birth of Arden Elizabeth.

Carrie Luce ’02 of Grapeland was named Teacher of the Week on Nov. 6. She has been with Grapeland ISD for 14 years.

Chris ’05 and Rachel Arnold ’07 of Leander announce the Dec. 27 birth of Riley Welles.

Brian Cavett ’09 of Lavon earned the designation of Fellow in the Society of Actuaries.

Christopher Puariea ’09 of Houston and Stephanie Gilbreath ’12 of Boerne were married in February.


Michael Haven ’11 & ’16 and Ellen Denney ’11 of Nacogdoches announce the Oct. 30 birth of Willa Rose. Michael is the first director of the newest state historic site, Mission Dolores State Historic Site, in San Augustine.

Daniel Zevin Spears ’11 of Washington, D.C., received his certified meeting planner designation — a nationally recognized designation representing several years of dedication to the meeting planning industry.

Ashlee Brewster ’13 of Waco was named the 2016-17 Outstanding Teacher of the Year at Mountainview Elementary School.

Heather McPherson ’14 of Whitney was one of four individuals recognized by Project Aspire — a foundation that seeks to give back to Colorado women in higher education — during the organization’s scholarship dinner. McPherson is a graduate student in Denver working toward a master’s degree in cybersecurity.