Robert “Bob” Allen

Robert “Bob” Allen of Houston, a 1971 graduate of SFA, passed away Oct. 20. Allen worked for 38 years at KTRK Channel 13 in Houston as a sports anchor and director. He also worked for KHOU Channel 11 for two years, serving as sports director.

Allen was the nightly pipeline to the Oilers, Astros, Rockets and other professional, college, and high school teams for hundreds of thousands of viewers on Houston’s most-watched newscasts.

He covered the glory days of the Houston Oilers when Earl Campbell was a player. He was on the air to detail the games and highlights of the Houston Astros during Nolan Ryan’s era and the Houston Rockets' two championships.

While chronicling some of the most memorable moments in Houston sports history, he also became a friend and benefactor to dozens of young people through his work with the Sunshine Kids and Special Olympics, organizations that help people confronting challenges.


Jackie Nelson Cannon

Jackie Nelson Cannon of Troup passed away Oct. 16. Cannon received both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from SFA in 1960 and 1964, respectively. He played football for the Lumberjacks for four years.

After graduation, Cannon coached at Shelbyville High School and retired in 2002 as a public school administrator. He served on the SFA Alumni Association board of directors, serving as board president from 1996-2000, and he was honored with the SFA Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2004.


Dr. Jarrell Craven Grout

Dr. Jarrell Craven Grout, former SFA professor, passed away Nov. 12. Grout moved to Nacogdoches in 1972 and served as chair of the Department of Computer Science for seven years. He remained a professor of computer science until his retirement in 2003.

While an SFA faculty member, Grout authored two college textbooks and numerous scholarly articles. In 2000, he received the College of Business Service Award.


A.L. Mangham

Nacogdoches businessman and SFA scholarship donor A.L. Mangham passed away Nov. 22. Mangham was born in Nacogdoches County Dec. 17, 1922, and grew up in Appleby. He served in the Navy and Marines both in enlisted and officer positions. After 24 years in the military, he retired and pursued civic opportunities in banking and numerous leadership positions, which included serving as Nacogdoches mayor and on the SFASU Foundation board of trustees.


Dr. C. Richard Voigtel

Dr. C. Richard Voigtel, a 1953 and 1958 graduate of SFA and former faculty and staff member, passed away Oct. 10. Voigtel had a long career in the field of education, including teaching in elementary and high schools and high school counseling. From 1965-96, he served SFA in the areas of admissions, placement and financial aid, grants and research, the Alumni Association, development, affirmative action, and disability services. He moved into the academic area where he taught in the Department of Counseling and Special Educational Programs, becoming department chair in 1988. He retired as professor emeritus of human services.

Voigtel was active on many boards, including the Nacogdoches Convention and Visitors Bureau, Samaritan Counseling Center and Nacogdoches ISD.


Dr. Leon Young

Dr. Leon Young, who served SFA for more than 40 years with the distinction of a leader and educator, passed away Dec. 2. Young, also known as “Dr. Red Dirt” or “Chief ” to his family and friends, came to Nacogdoches in 1975 and began teaching soil science and agronomy courses and supervising the Soil Testing Lab at SFA.

During the next 41 years, Young taught more than 2,500 agriculture students in his soil science course. He also served as director of the SFA Soil, Plant and Water Analysis Laboratory from 1984-97 and chair of the Department of Agriculture.

Young assisted in the development of SFA Gardens and, as a professor, directed thesis research and writing for more than 30 master’s degree students. He was awarded the title Regents Professor in 2008 and named the Nacogdoches County Agriculture Educator of the Year in 2012.

In Memoriam

Name Class Hometown Date
Jean M. Adams 1974 Dallas Nov. 17
William Arrington 1980 Conroe Oct. 26
Patricia A. Berry 1985 & 1991 Lufkin Jan. 13
Mark E. Billings 1984 & 1992 Leesville, Louisiana Dec. 4
Tom Bond 1973 San Marcos Nov. 12
Robert Bowling 2007 Shreveport, Louisiana Jan. 10
Malinda G. Burke 1976 League City Dec. 24
Clyde Cozart 1957 Houston Aug. 20
James O. Eddington 1959 Lufkin Oct. 17
Molly Francis Foster 1994 Athens March 29, 2016
Wilma Watkins Fuller 1939 Fort Worth July 15
Ronnie J. Henderson Jr. 1995 Sunnyvale Nov. 26
Jill A. Hill 1987 Fort Worth Dec. 23
Russell T. Hughes 2007 Temple Nov. 5
John E. Hurley Jr. 1973 Marshall Nov. 23
Bryan S. Jared 1971 Rusk Nov. 30
Mary L. King Retired SFA employee Nacogdoches Dec. 31
Billie N. Koonce 1960 & 1980 Etoile Nov. 13
Gary L. Langford Former staff member Nacogdoches Dec. 15
Dr. Ernest B. Ledger 1970 and Professor emeritus of geology Nacogdoches Feb. 3, 2016
Lance W. Lowery 1968 Etoile Nov. 22
Glenn C. Mangham 1948 Orange Nov. 20
James A. McLeod 1997 Lufkin Jan. 26
Eva B. Medlin 1975 Lufkin Nov. 30
Melvin B. Montgomery 1971 Huntsville Nov. 18
Dr. Herbert Claude “Butch” Munden 1973 Austin Oct. 24
Auderle Simons Parkerson 1958 & 1962 Nacogdoches Dec. 6
Joseph J. Peppard Sr. 1961 Huntington Dec. 20
Mark Anthony Porter Former staff member Nacogdoches Nov. 30
Navoleine R. Roddy 1962 Troup Oct. 15
Dewey H. Rogers 1967 Collierville, Tennessee Oct. 5
Timothy J. Romero 1991 Euless Dec. 5
Madeleine Snider Former staff member Wells Dec. 2
Christopher J. Snyder 1999 & 2005 Nacogdoches Jan. 14
Richard E. Spruill 1965 Marshall Jan. 24
Patsy Ruth Stanley 1950 Alto Oct. 15
Duane G. Stephens 1958 Tyler Oct. 26
Danny R. Teague 1965 Athens Oct. 10
Loweda G. Tunnell 1946 Richardson Jan. 12
Joan Wageman 1970 & 1974 Winfield, Kansas May 29
Edward M. Welch 1953 Lufkin Oct. 17
Christine D. Wilson 1990 & 1992 Nacogdoches Dec. 19