Stephen F. Austin State University


Department of Secondary Education & Educational Leadership

Scott Slough, Chair
McKibben 404
Phone: (936) 468-2908
Fax: (936) 468-1573


Scott Slough, Karen Embry-Jenlink, Patrick M. Jenlink

Associate Professors
Janet Tareilo, Neill Armstrong, Kenneth Austin, Linda Black, Kerry Roberts, Pauline Sampson, Mark Seaman

Assistant Professors
Heather Olson-Beal, Mary Catherine Nino, Stacy Hendricks, Bryan Bailey, Ali Hachem

Visiting Assistant Professor
William Dwyer

Visiting Instructor
Beth Gound

Coordinator of Doctoral Program
Patrick M. Jenlink

Coordinator of Principal Program
Janet Tareilo

Coordinator of the Superintendent Certification Program

Pauline Sampson

Coordinator of the Secondary Teacher Education Program
Neill Armstrong

Coordinator of the Graduate Secondary Teacher Education Programs

Scott Slough


The Secondary Education and Educational Leadership Department Program seeks to prepare teachers and administrators as school leaders committed to youth, scholarship and lifelong learning through a scholar-practitioner learning community characterized by a learner-centered curriculum, field experience, mentoring, and practical inquiry.