What is a “3-peat?”
A 3-peat is a course that has been taken three or more times at any Texas public institution of higher education.
When will the 3-peat rule go into effect?
Students will be required to pay an additional $200 per semester credit hour for the repeated class beginning summer 2017.
Does this apply to graduate students?
No, this only applies to undergraduate students.
What if I took this class twice at another institution?
This applies to courses attempted more than twice at any Texas public institution of higher education.
Why are students charged additional tuition when a course has been taken three or more times?
The Texas Legislature eliminated funding to higher education for courses that are attempted three or more times.
What is an “attempted course?”
An attempted course is any course in which a grade is earned, a repeated course, or a course dropped after the census date (12th class day in fall or spring semesters, 4th class day in summer terms, 2nd class day in Maymester or sessions of five weeks or less).
How much more will it cost?
This will cost an additional $200 per semester credit hour. A three-hour course will cost $600 more if this rule applies.
Could students be exempt from the 3-peat rule?
Yes, exemptions for repeated hours for attempted courses are as follows:
18 hours of remedial and development courses
Hours for special topics and seminar courses
Hours for courses that involve different or more advanced content each time they are taken, including but not limited to, individual music lessons, Workforce Education Courses, manual special topic courses (when the topics change), theater practicum, music performance, ensembles, certain physical education, kinesiology courses, and studio art
Hours for independent study courses
Classes taken prior to fall 2002
A student shall be exempted from payment of higher tuition for any course repeated in the final semester or term before graduation, if the course(s) is taken for the purpose of receiving a grade that will satisfy a degree requirement. This exemption applies for only one semester. The exemption does not affect an institution’s ability to charge a higher tuition rate for courses that cannot be reported for funding for other reasons such as the excess credit hour limit.
Do attempted courses include classes dropped before the first class day?
No, an attempted course is any course in which a grade is earned, a repeated course or a course dropped after the census date.
What is the “census date?”
The census date is the 12th class day in fall or spring semesters, 4th class day in summer terms, 2nd class day in Maymester or sessions of five weeks or less.
Does the 3-peat rule include transfer credits?
Do students who are subject to both the excessive undergraduate credit hours rule and the 3-peat rule have to pay an additional $400 per semester credit hour?
No, they are not penalized twice. They will only pay an additional $200 per semester credit hour.
Does the 3-peat rule apply to courses taken prior to summer 2017?
Yes. Courses taken beginning with the fall 2002 semester and thereafter count toward the 3-peat rule.
What if a student graduated and wanted to repeat a course a third time to help bring up his/her GPA?
Only undergraduate students are affected by this legislation.