

SPECIAL MEETING OF SFA CHARTER SCHOOL BOARD SPECIAL MEETING

Wednesday, February 8, 2023, 12:00 PM ECRC room 216 Early Childhood Research Center 2428 Raguet Street Nacogdoches, TX 75962

PRESENT: Board Members: Judy A. Abbott, Chair, Dean, James I. Perkins College of Education, SFAU; Jannah Nerren, Department Chair, Education Studies, SFASU; Natalie Cardenas, Teacher Representative, SFA Charter School; Judith Kruwell, University Representative, SFASU; Ronda McClain, Education Studies, SFASU (**Traveling, but available by phone and email**);

The items to be discussed or considered upon which any formal action may be taken, are as follows:

OPENING ACTIVITIES

The agenda was discussed in the following order:

1. Call to Order

Chair, Dean, James I. Perkins College of Education, Judy Abbott, called the meeting to order at 12:00PM.

- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Recognition and Public Input

CONSENT AGENDA

4. Approve Board Meeting Minutes from Wednesday, January 18, 2023.

The meeting minutes from the board meeting that was held on Wednesday, January 18, 2023, were sent to everyone electronically and approved unanimously by the board.

ACTION AGENDA

5. SFACS Employee Compensation Lysa Hagan presented the board with a copy of the revised document by SFASU Finance and Administration regarding Fiscal Year 2023 Mid-Year Salary Increase. With a motion by Jannah Nerren, and a second by Judith Kruwell, the board unanimously approved the SFACS Employee Compensation. Ronda McClain voted over the phone and sent a message, via email, to approve.

EXECUTIVE/CLOSED SESSION

6. Section 551.074 – Deliberate the Appointment, Employment, Evaluation, Reassignment, Duties, Discipline or Dismissal of a Public Officer or Employee; or to Hear a Complaint or Charge Against an Officer or Employee; The executive session started at 12:15 PM and ended at 12:20 PM. The dismissal of an SFACS board member was provided for consideration. With a motion by Judith Kruwell, and a second by Natalie Cardenas, the board unanimously approved the removal.

ADJOURN

With a motion by Jannah Nerren, and a second by Judith Kruwell, the meeting adjourned at 12:27 PM.

Judy A. Abbott

Judy A. Abbott Dean, James I. Perkins College of Education Stephen F. Austin State University