Stephen F. Austin State University

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 8, 2002 Meeting #311 (Approved at September 11, 2002 Meeting)

I. Call to Order

Dr. Devine called the meeting to order at 2:30 PM.

II. Announcements

Dr. Devine announced that in a "virtual" electronic meeting the Senate had unanimously passed a resolution thanking VPAA Janelle Ashley for her many years of service at SFA and wishing her every success in her new endeavors at Worcester State.

Dr. Devine acknowledged and thanked the senators who are completing their term on the senate: Rick Abel, Vi Alexander, Roy Alston, Joe Ballenger, Aileen Smith and Colin Starr.

III. Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the April meeting were approved with minor corrections.

IV. Guests

Dr. Guerrero addressed brief remarks to the constitutional amendment to make department chairs ineligible for service on the Senate.

V. Officer Reports

A. Chair

Dr. Devine announced that the Academic Affairs Council is considering four changes in scheduling classes:

- 1. TT starting at 8, and then all classes beginning on the half-hour or hour-would mean 15 minutes between classes on those days
- 2. On MW, no classes longer than 50 minutes to begin before 1:00pm
- 3. First classes of the day at the Social Work Building and the SRC to start at 7:30
- 4. Evening classes at two hours: starting at approximately 4:30 and 7:15
- Dr. McDonald moved that this issue be discussed and voted on under new business.

B. Chair-Elect No report.

C. Treasurer Report on budget was circulated.

D. Secretary

Dr. Zagrodnik, for the elections committee, reported that the vote on the constitutional amendment that would make department chairs ineligible for the Senate was 94 yes, 25 no, 4 marking their ballots "abstain."

Dr. Zagrodnik, announced the names of new senators who would be seated immediately following this meeting in the first meeting of 2002-03. The new senators are: Treba Marsh, Rob Culpepper, Roy Joe Harris, Sarah Stovall, Gary Mayer, Jere Jackson, and Ann Doyle-Anderson. There was a coin toss to determine which of the latter two, Jackson or Doyle-Anderson would serve a regular three-year term and which would fill the last year of Dr. Zagrodnik's term. (Dr. Zagrodnik is leaving SFA to take up a position at another university). Dr. Jackson won the three-year term.

Elections were held for new officers for 2002-03. Darrel McDonald will be chair-elect. Carol Scamman will be secretary; Thomas Caffery will be treasurer.

VI. Committee Reports

A. Academic Affairs I

The committee reported on summer provisional admittance.

B. Academic Affairs II

A resolution opposing the SGA's proposal to extend late registration from the present 4th class day to the 6th class day was presented.

WHEREAS the Student Government Association on Wednesday, April 10, passed a bill to extend the date to register for classes or to change schedules from the fourth class day, which is now the deadline, to the sixth class day, and

WHEREAS much important instruction is conducted in classes on the first days of the semester, and

WHEREAS a student entering a class as late as the sixth day might miss quizzes or assignments, therefore be it

RESOLVED that the Faculty Senate opposes any extension of late registration.

The resolution passed unanimously.

C. Administration and Finance No report.

D. Faculty Governance No report.

E. Professional Welfare

A resolution to oppose extending all permit parking time was introduced. Senate opinion was strongly for it, but the resolution was not adopted because the Senate did not want to seem engaged in disputes with the SGA.

F. Strategic Planning No report.

G. Conservation (Ad hoc)

Dr. DawnElla Rust reported on a study of "walkability" that was recently made. She expressed dismay at the lack of interest in the study on the part of faculty, staff, and administrators.

VII. Old Business No business.

VIII. New Business

Dr. Devine returned to discussion of the proposal on schedule changes from the Academic Affairs Council. On proposal one a voice vote was taken for those opposed and those in support. The vote was unanimous in opposition to the proposal. Dr. Devine then led a discussion of the other proposals and general opposition was expressed for each of the proposals. Concern was expressed over the apparent lack of supporting rationale for the changes.

Dr. King presented Dr. Devine a plaque as an expression of the Senate's appreciation for his service as chair.

IX. Adjournment The Senate meeting was adjourned by Dr. Devine at 3:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted by,

Carol J. Scamman,

*Secretary, Faculty Senate 2002-2003 for Dr. Karen Zagrodnik, Secretary, Faculty Senate, 2001-2002

*Minutes were written by Dr. Larry King, Chair 2002-2003 with help from other officers after Dr. Zagrodnik's departure.