Stephen F. Austin State University Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Meeting #384 April 14, 2010

Subject to approval at the 384th meeting.

<u>Senators present</u>: Brian Beavers(3); Vikki Boatman(6); Parliamentarian, Linda Bobo(7); Dennis Bradford(8); Erin Brown(9); Susan Clarke(10); Chair-Elect, Ken Collier(11); Secretary, Carolyn Conn(12); Randi Cox(13); Mitch Crocker(14); Dianne Dentice(15); Christina Guenther(16); David Howard(17); Treasurer, Keith Hubbard(18); Mikhail Kouliavtsev(19); Chair, Kevin Langford(20); Emmerentie Oliphant(22); Carl Pfaffenberg(23);Ken Untiedt(26).

Excused/Sent Representative:

Kim Archer(1); Sara Bishop (5)

Not present:

Neil Armstrong(2); Kathleen Belanger(4); Cynthia McCarley(21); Daniel Scognamillo(24)

Agenda

I. <u>Call to order.</u> Chair Langford called the meeting to order at 2:34 pm.

II. <u>Approval of Minutes</u> from Meeting #382. Senator Clarke moved to approve the minutes of Meeting #383. Senator Boatman seconded the motion and the motion carried.

Announcements from Dr. Berry:

- Recognitions and celebrations: Teaching Excellence Awards and Faculty Recognition Ceremony, please attend
- Bright Ideas went well
- Archie McDonald Speaker Series, March 29: Speaker, George Foreman
- SFASU Lifetime Cultural Achievement Award will be awarded to Mr. Foreman and all subsequent speakers for the Archie McDonald Speaker Award
- III. Officers' reports:
 - A. <u>Chair</u>:
 - No announcements
 - B. <u>Chair Elect</u>:
 - Met with SGA to open up communication topics of concern include smoke-free campus and student behavior
 - Will be at luncheon to recognize faculty achievement
 - C. <u>Treasurer</u>: \$1,700 unallocated.
 - Adapted the account so that we may donate \$2000 to a scholarship in memory of Senator Lee. Department of Education awarded two \$1000 scholarships to deserving students. These will be awarded Thursday, April 15, 2010.

- Polo shirts have been designed and will be available to order by size and as needed with just a few days turn-around. Faculty senate members can purchase shirts with own funds at Designs Plus on University. (\$22.50 each)
- D. <u>Secretary</u>: no report
- IV. Committees Report:
 - A. <u>Academic Affairs Committee</u> Chair-Erin Brown, Kim Archer, Dianne Dentice, Cynthia McCarley, Daniel Scognamillo
 - No report.
 - B. <u>Administration and Finance</u> Mikhail Kouliavtsev, Carl Pfaffenberg, Randi Cox.
 Information on website regarding financial aid and loans for students is fairly "comprehensive." If there is confusion, it is not for lack of information on website.
 - C. <u>Faculty Government and Involvement</u> Chair-David Howard, Mitch Crocker, Keith Hubbard, Neil Armstrong. - No report.
 - D. <u>Communication Committee</u> Chair Kathleen Belanger, Brian Beavers, Emmerentie Oliphant, Susan Clarke, Christina Guenther.
 No report.
 - E. <u>Professional Welfare Committee</u> Chair- Sara Bishop, Ken Untiedt, Linda Bobo, Dennis Bradford.
 created "ghost site" and sent e-mail. April 23rd deadline to offer feedback. (www.sfasu.edu/4391.asp)
 - F. <u>Elections</u>– Chair- Vikki Boatman- other members of faculty senate as needed.
 - In future, nomination process will begin in March with a mid-March deadline so that nominations are solicited in a timely manner
 - Announcement will be made April 15 with a deadline of April 23rd
 - Need elected officials for Secretary, Chair-Elect, and Treasurer.
 - Votes were submitted by acclamation
 - David Howard elected as Chair-Elect by unanimous vote
 - Keith Hubbard elected as Treasurer by unanimous vote
 - Carolyn Conn elected as Secretary by unanimous vote
 - V. Old Business:
 - The library has instituted the "Quiet Zone" on the fourth floor of the library. Further information is available on the library website.
 - Remaining Faculty Senate meetings: May 5, 2010 (**FIRST week of month)
 - VI. New Business
 - VII. Chair Langford adjourned the meeting at 3:06 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Conn Secretary