Stephen F. Austin State University Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Meeting #385 May 12, 2010

Subject to approval at the 387th meeting.

<u>Senators present</u>: Kathleen Belanger(4); Sara Bishop (5); Vikki Boatman(6); Parliamentarian, Linda Bobo(7); Dennis Bradford(8); Susan Clarke(10); Chair-Elect, Ken Collier(11); Secretary, Carolyn Conn(12); David Howard(17); Mikhail Kouliavtsev(19); Chair, Kevin Langford(20); Emmerentie Oliphant(22); Ken Untiedt(26).

Excused/Sent Representative:

Kim Archer(1); Brian Beavers(3); Erin Brown(9); Treasurer, Keith Hubbard(18)

Not present:

Neil Armstrong(2); Randi Cox(13); Mitch Crocker(14); Dianne Dentice(15); Christina Guenther(16); Cynthia McCarley(21); Carl Pfaffenberg(23); Daniel Scognamillo(24)

Agenda

- I. <u>Call to order.</u> Chair Langford called the meeting to order at 2:36 pm.
- II. <u>Approval of Minutes</u> from Meeting #384. Senator Boatman moved to approve the minutes of Meeting #384. Senator Untiedt seconded the motion and the motion carried.

Announcements from Dr. Berry:

Dr. Berry recognizes that this has been a difficult year with many trying situations. Thanks for dedication and hard work to all.

- III. Officers' reports:
 - A. <u>Chair</u>: no report
 - B. Chair Elect: no report
 - C. Treasurer:

We have roughly \$1700 unallocated. This will vary slightly because we do not yet know how many new faculty we have or new faculty polo shirts we need.

We will lose these funds if they are not spent before the end of the fiscal year, which is prior to the senate's September meeting. Please feel free to discuss ideas for using it well in that timeframe.

- C. <u>Secretary</u>: no report
- IV. Committees Report:
 - A. <u>Academic Affairs Committee</u> Chair-Erin Brown, Kim Archer, Dianne Dentice, Cynthia McCarley, Daniel Scognamillo No report.

- B. <u>Administration and Finance</u> Mikhail Kouliavtsev, Carl Pfaffenberg, Randi Cox. No report.
- C. <u>Faculty Government and Involvement</u> Chair-David Howard, Mitch Crocker, Keith Hubbard, Neil Armstrong. No report.
- D. <u>Communication Committee</u>
 – Chair Kathleen Belanger, Brian Beavers, Emmerentie Oliphant, Susan Clarke, Christina Guenther. No report.
- D. <u>Professional Welfare Committee</u> Chair- Sara Bishop, Ken Untiedt, Linda Bobo, Dennis Bradford.
 New faculty website is up and functioning.
- E. <u>Elections</u>– Chair- Vikki Boatman- other members of faculty senate as needed. Lisa Grigsby and Charity Carney have offered to serve as adjunct representatives. Senator Bishop moved that we accept the two as our adjunct representatives. Seconded by Senator Untiedt and approved unanimously.
- V. Old Business: None remaining
- VI. New Business:
 - Chair Langford encourages the new board to continue hard work and efforts on working towards achieving goals set by the University's Strategic Plan.
 - Senator Bobo asked about HEF funding changes. Dr. Berry states that only HEF change involves the computer replacement program. No other HEF funds should be affected.
 - Gifts for outgoing officers.
- VII. Chair Langford adjourned the meeting at 2:55 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Conn Secretary