Stephen F. Austin State University Faculty Senate Agenda – Meeting #489 Wednesday, April 26, 2023, 2:30 CST

I. Call to order (McKenna)

- A. Present: Jeremy Becnel, Julie Bloxson, Jason Bruck, Gina Fe Causin, Arye Chakravartty, Rebecca Davis, George Day (Secretary), Sarah Drake, Erika Hoagland, Lindsey Kennon, Michelle Klein (Treasurer), CC Conn (Chair-Elect), Wenjing Li, Daniel McCleary, G.W. Scott (proxy: Rob McDermand, Chris McKenna (Chair), Herbert Midgley (Parliamentarian), Rajat Mishra, Jonathan Mitchell, Perry Moon, Tina Oswald, Emily Payne, Bidisha Sengupta, Louise Stoehr, Sarah Staub, Bailey Thompson, Victoria Wagner-Greene, Jake Walburn, Yanli Zhang
- B. Absent (no proxy): Gretchen Patterson, Leland Thompson, Chris Turner
- II. Presentation Dr. Lorenzo Smith, Provost/Exec. VP for Academic Affairs
 - **A.** Expressed gratitude to the outgoing chair
 - **B.** Current status of pending system transition efforts affecting AA
 - teams continue under the guidance of Mark Guidry (AA); issue w/librarians not being associated with a college in a tenured rank; policies being converted to HOP; benefits/insurance/retirement being looked at by the team
 - **C.** Annual Faculty Service and Scholarly Excellence Awards
 - 1. Provost stated that he is in making this happen and has started examining awards given by the various colleges; The deans spoke favorably "in principle" of the proposal
 - **D.** Q&A
 - 1. Interim pres. Board of Regents (BoR) meet on the 10th and will make an announcement regarding interim president; unknown who it is or how long they will serve
 - **2.** \$5.5 for faculty/AA? Will be the decision of the incoming president (or interim); 6% already given cost \$3.5mil
 - **3.** AA budget question asked; Provost answer involved discussion of his priorities for AA funding for things like the Ombudsman; 6-7 faculty positions; about \$6 mil in ongoing support to add to current AA operating/ongoing budget
 - **4.** Financial aid disbursements for summer: lag between semester start & financial aid disbursements (nursing students) causing financial issues

III. Session Break & transition to Senate business session (faculty only)¹

IV. Approval of minutes from meeting #488

- A. Requested changes: correction to the spelling of Senator Wager-Greene 's name
- **B.** Motion to accept by: [Tina Oswald]; 2nd: [Darrel McDonald]
- V. Introduction of new Senate members:
 - A. RCOB: N/A

B. PCOE: Sarah Straub (TT)

¹ public recording to be terminated during break

- **C.** ATCOFA: Rebecca Kidd (TT)
- D. STEM: Jason Bruck (TT), Alexandra Van Kley (TT)
- E. MECOFA: Mario Ajero (TT), Eden Collins (TT), Herb Midgley (NTT)
- F. CLAA: Hunter Hampton (TT), Tyler Welsh (TT), Lisa Bentley (NTT)
- G. Library: Phil Reynolds

VI. Officer Reports

- A. Chair (McKenna)
 - 1. stonewalled on inquiries about presidential search
 - **2.** BoR presentation 4.25.23, spoke about recognition for research and service in addition to teaching
- B. Chair-Elect (Conn) no report
- **C. Secretary** (Day)
 - 1. Faculty senate webpage updated with most recent recordings and minutes
- D. Treasurer (Klein)
 - **1.** current balance:\$1743.92
 - 2. expected outstanding debits/credits:\$1677.82; pending \$1066.10 award

VII. Committee Reports

- A. Academic Affairs (Midgley/Straub) -
 - 1. HOP 5.10 Establishing Centers Institutes and Specialized Testing or Service Laboratories
 - 2. HOP 6.14 Institutional Absences
 - 3. HOP ?.?? Use of University Facilities
 - 4. HOP 7.1 Academic and Professional Qualifications
 - 5. HOP 7.5 Adjunct Faculty Performance Evaluation
 - **6.**HOP 7.27 Student Evaluation of Instruction
- B. Grad Council: (Conn, ex officio) no report
- C. Core Curriculum Assessment (Conn, ex officio) no report
- **D.** Staff Council update (Thompson/Patterson) no report
- E. Internal committees
 - **1.Elections** (Mishra) -run-off completed and senator seated; noted concerns about the election from faculty to be addressed next year; suggest (can administrators who also teach can vote)

VIII. Old Business

- **A.** Resolution of outstanding election issue (Mishra, McKenna, etc.). see above.
- **B.** Reminder: Voting eligibility is an issue to take up next Fall

IX. New Business

- A. Thank You's and Farewells (McKenna, Conn)
 - 1. Chris Turner, Yanli Zhang, Perry Moon, Darrel McDonald, Gretchen Patterson, Jonathan Mitchell, and Tina Oswald.
- B. Outgoing Chair remarks, followed by the "Passing of the Gavel" (McKenna).
- **C.** Election of incoming Chair-Elect (Conn) Perry Moon
- D. Election of officers for next year: Secretary, Treasurer, and Parliamentarian (Conn)
 - 1. Secretary: Sarah Straub
 - 2. Treasurer: Michelle Klein

- 3. Parliamentarian: Herb Midgley
- E. Chair's initial address to the Senate (Conn)
 - 1. Survey regarding standing and ad hoc committee will be sent out soon.

X. Adjournment

a. Motion: [D. McDonald] 2nd: [J. Mitchell]