Dr. Richard Morrison ’60 of Wilmington, North Carolina, was appointed to the Board of Directors of Argos Therapeutics.

Dr. Giles Ray Deason ’68, ’71 & ’00 retired from his position as Ore City ISD assistant superintendent after 50 years in education.

Alex Nemer Jr. ’68 was appointed by the Palestine City Council as the city’s municipal judge.


The Texas Dairy Queen Operators Council presented two awards to Gene Brumbelow ’70 of Jacksonville. The Helping Hands Award was given for continuous efforts to mentor store operators, and the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented for the 29 years Brumbelow has operated DQ stores and held various board and other notable positions.

Hal Brockman ’74 of Hillsboro, Oregon, completed his third Ironman competition. He participated in his first Ironman at age 60.

Van Welch ’77 of Spring joined Mobile Mini Inc. as executive vice president and chief financial officer.


An article by Karen Guenther ’80 of Mansfield, Pennsylvania, professor of history at Mansfield University, titled “A Question of Loyalty: German Churches in Reading During the First World War” was published in the summer 2017 issue of “Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies.”

Dr. Geoff Gearner ’81 of Morehead, Kentucky, professor of biology at Morehead State University, received the Distinguished Teacher Award during MSU’s 2017 Fall Convocation.

Paul Blakely ’83 of Forney retired from the Dallas Fire Department after a 33-year career.

Ken Craver ’84 of Tyler was appointed to the Learning Technology Advisory Committee of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Jim Berry ’85 of Dallas is vice chairman of Deloitte and leader of its U.S. real estate and construction sector practice.

Kelly Pickle ’85 & ’87 of Paris is in her third year as superintendent of Roxton ISD.

Gregory B. Hayes ’86 of Jacksonville, Florida, was appointed vice president of finance and chief financial officer for the Jacksonville Transportation Authority.

Brig. Gen. Neil S. Hersey ’86 of Fort Gordon, Georgia, was named the first general officer commandant of the U.S. Army Cyber School.

Don Jackson ’87, ’02 & ’04 of Jacksonville won the 2016-17 National LifeChanger of the Year Award. Jackson is principal of Grapeland Elementary School.

David Murray ’87 of Genesco, Illinois, was hired as dean of North Central State College’s liberal arts division.


Brett Ward ’92 of San Antonio met Shianne S. Sinks, an SFA undergraduate from Wimberley, when both attended the Ben Delatour Scout Ranch in Red Feather Lakes, Colorado. Sinks was the camp’s horsemanship merit badge instructor and taught Ward’s son.

Winifread Williams ’92 of Marshall recently retired from education after 32 years working for Wills Point ISD.

Kenneth Williams ’94 of Buda was elected vice president of the Texas City Management Association.

The Temple Independent School District Board of Trustees hired Kelly Madden ’96 of Temple as principal of Kennedy-Powell Elementary School.

Vivian Nichols ’96 of Palestine recently published a book titled “Whisper Mountain.” The book is based on the story of her grandmother, Ida Williams, and recounts her time growing up in the Ozark Mountains. The anguish of her grandmother’s childhood was not discovered until 30 years after her death when family members located more than 100 pages of journal entries that Nichols adapted and retold in the book from her grandmother’s perspective.

Monica Stefek ’97 of St. Louis, Missouri, was named director of marketing for Spellman Brady & Co., an interior design firm specializing in senior living, health care and higher education environments.

Dr. David Waters ’99 & ’05 of Llano was named Nocona ISD superintendent.


Dr. Donny Lee ’02 of Oakwood was named 2017-18 Region VII Outstanding High School Principal of the Year by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals.

Jennifer Moody ’03 and Rafael Wilder of Pflugerville were married in April.

DealTiffany Deal ’03 and her husband, Michael, of Houston welcomed daughter Vivienne Dior April 23.

BourdierJoel Bourdier ’06 & ’07 of Orange and Kristen Trent-Bourdier ’08 of Frisco sent their sons, Trent and Joseph, to their school’s College Week in spirited SFA clothing.

David Hollas ’06 of Houston was named environmental, health and safety advisor for Australis Oil & Gas.

Jessica Bridges ’07 of Cypress launched a new online fashion line named Jess Lea.

Benjamin Cameron ’09 of Longview joined Christus Good Shepherd Medical Center. He specializes in internal medicine.

Heather Ursprung ’09 of Channelview conducted the Channelview ISD All-District Choir’s performance of “The Star-Spangled Banner” during a Houston Astros game in August.


PelhamJustin ’10 & ’11 and Kelsey Pelham ’11 & ’14 of Nacogdoches welcomed daughter Ellie Grace in March. Justin is a clinical instructor in SFA’s School of Human Sciences. Kelsey is an instructor in SFA’s Department of Languages, Cultures and Communication.

Cole Tomberlain ’10 of Longview was selected as the Longview News- Journal’s 2017 Best Insurance Agent of East Texas.

Houston Press recognized two SFA graduates for their performances in Houston-based theater productions. Blake Weir ’12 of Sugar Land was named a Best Supporting Actor finalist for his role as Henry VIII in “Wolf Hall” and “Bring Up the Bodies” at Houston’s Main Street Theater. Allen Titel ’12 of Richmond was awarded the Best Trouper award for his role as Winston Smith in Obsidian Theater’s production of “1984.”

Weekendfer Saurit ’13 and Jacklyn Reyes ’14 of Austin were married in July.

PetroskyFelicia Petrosky ’13 and Shane Cribbs of Angleton announced the July birth of son, Declan.

WatersJacob ’13 and Kaylyn Waters ’14 of West announced the June birth of Samuel Jacob.

Shalonda Washington ’14 of Coldspring was named Coldspring-Oakhurst Consolidated ISD’s 2016 Teacher of the Year.

Robyne Williams ’14 of Richmond, also known as DJ Teddi, is now the home DJ for two professional sports teams in Houston.

Amanda Dover ’16 of Rusk was appointed Cherokee County auditor.

Karen Rush ’16 of Houston played one of three Victorian explorers who travel through time and have an encounter with a yeti in Pasadena Little Theatre’s production of “On the Verge.”

Nathan Weant ’16 of Hallsville was selected to lead the Indian Hills Community College golf program.