Apply Today

El Camino Real de los Tejas and Building Nacogdoches: 1716 – 2016

March 2016 - August 2017

El Camino Real de los Tejas and Building Nacogdoches: 1716 – 2016

In 2016, Nacogdoches will mark its tricentennial year celebrating the region’s Spanish heritage. The Stone Fort Museum’s exhibit El Camino Real de los Tejas and Building Nacogdoches highlights this rich history and focuses on the people that lived and traveled along the road.

Museum collections and objects on loan from the personal collections of Rick Still and George Avery, in addition to material from the Houston Museum of Natural Science and the SFA Anthropology Lab, include flintlocks, flint knives, cruciform stirrups, belt knives, tools for traveling and tools for building a new home. In the eighteenth century, Spanish expeditions into eastern Texas lasted from several months to sometimes over a year. A century later, the trail served as a primary overland route for Anglo and African American migrations into Texas. Regardless of how or why people moved to the region, over time the large scale migration and the influx of talent led to major changes in communities along the trail.

The campus of Stephen F. Austin State University is home to a fort, and not just any fort. A fort that was a trading post, private home, church, jail, and saloon - but never a fort. A fort that was built three times, and a fort that was torn down by men to be re-erected by women. Read more about the history of the Stone Fort.

Top of page

Become a Student Academics & Research Students Alumni & Friends Faculty & Staff Arts & Athletics A-Z List