Stephen F. Austin State University


SFA Board of Regents approves faculty and staff appointments

October 30, 2018

Stephen F. Austin State University's Board of Regents approved various leadership changes during its Monday quarterly meeting.

Dr. Mark Sanders, professor, was appointed associate dean of the College of Liberal and Applied Arts. Sanders has been a part of the SFA faculty since 2008, serving in various roles such as department chair and English professor. He has more than 40 years of experience in education at the collegiate and secondary education levels.

In the College of Sciences and Mathematics, Dr. Michele Harris, chemistry professor, was named associate dean. Since 1994, Harris has been a member of the SFA faculty, where she has served as assistant professor, associate professor, professor, graduate advisor, and assistant chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Regents also appointed physician Dr. Janice Ledet as director of health services. Ledet was licensed by the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners and began practicing at SFA's health clinic in 1986.


Faculty appointments approved for the Rusche College of Business included assistant professors Thomas Branton and Jose Vega, accounting; Wenjing Li, management and marketing; and Rebecca Davis, economics and finance.

In the Department of Management and Marketing, Antoine Busby was approved as a visiting assistant professor, and William Kirkpatrick was approved as clinical instructor. Lecturers Nicole Brantley, accounting, and Laurie Rogers, business communication and legal studies, also were approved.


Brandon Fox, James I. Perkins College of Education associate professor, was appointed as interim assistant chair of the Department of Elementary Education. Professor Gloria Gresham was appointed as interim assistant chair of the Department of Secondary Education and Educational Leadership.

Amber Wagnon, who formerly served as a lecturer of English and creative writing, was approved as associate professor of secondary education and educational leadership, and Cyndra Krogen-Morton, a Title IX specialist, was approved as visiting lecturer of kinesiology and health science.

In the Department of Kinesiology and Health Science, Mi Hae Bae was approved as assistant professor, and Sharon Rice was approved as an instructor. Assistant professors Shannon Darst and Summer Koltonski, human services, and Mychelle Smith, secondary education, also were approved. Mandy Seybold was approved as lecturer of human services.

Regents approved the SFA Charter School appointments of Juliana Akerson, Madison Taylor and Brooke Taylor-Johnson as teachers, and Jacklyn Hamilton as a substitute teacher.


The promotion of David Campo from associate professor to professor of music and director of bands was approved. Christopher Kaatz was approved as assistant professor of music and assistant director of bands, and Pierre-Alain Chevalier was approved as visiting lecturer and director of orchestral activities.

The following changes also were approved: Alexander Amato, from lecturer to assistant professor of music; Tamey Angley, from assistant professor to professor of music; Lee Goodhew, from visiting assistant professor to associate professor of music; Kirsten Nelson, from assistant professor to lecturer of music; and Kenneth Verdugo, from visiting assistant professor to assistant professor of theatre.

In the School of Theatre, Rosemary Brownlow-Calkin was approved as visiting professor, and Jennifer Malmberg and Jackie Rosenfield were approved as lecturers.

Nicholas Lambson was approved as visiting lecturer of music and Thomas Nixon as accompanist. Margaret Leysath was approved as visiting assistant professor of art.


In the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, Sheryll Jerez, associate professor, was named interim associate dean of the college. Jason Paul was approved as instructor of forestry, and Sabrina Thomas was approved as an agriculture lab associate.


Professor Mark Barringer was appointed as director of research, and Matthew McBroom, associate dean of forestry, was approved as interim chair of English and creative writing.

Aparecida Cordeiro Dutra, a Heritage Research Center associate, and Kelsey Pelham, visiting lecturer, were approved as lecturers in languages, culture and communication.

In the Department of Mass Communication, Yiran Wang was approved as assistant professor and Phillip Anderson was approved as instructor.

Approval was received for Megan Fleming, lecturer of government, and Jennifer McLaughlin, visiting lecturer of English and creative writing.

The following changes also were approved: Rhanda McGee, from adjunct faculty to lecturer of English and creative writing; Kristi Warren, from adjunct faculty to lecturer of psychology; and Charles White, from visiting instructor to lecturer of psychology.


In the College of Sciences and Mathematics, William Bradford, Brooke Busbee and Cheryl Janusa were approved as lecturers of mathematics and statistics, and Marissa Rotenberry was approved as a visiting lecturer.

Also approved were:

In the Steen Library, Edward Kownslar was approved as librarian III.

In Information Technology Services, regents granted the following changes of status: David Justus, from associate director of library technology to compliance coordinator; Jon Laurent, from technical support specialist I to security specialist I; Timothy Lewallen, assistant manager of technical support to assistant director of customer service; and Jennifer Stringfield, from assessment specialist to project analyst.

In the Department of Athletics, Jeffrey Byrd's appointment as interim head football coach was approved, along with Erin Scott's appointment as head tennis coach. Other approvals included Alisa Blair, assistant volleyball coach; Cody Dukquits, conditioning professional specialist; Ryan Friedline, marketing coordinator; and Hadrien Choukroun and Hunter Key, assistant track coaches.

In Residence Life, staff appointments were approved for hall directors Jamyia Barrett, Jonathan Boulanger, Jamil Frech and Natalie Roberts. Lori Havard was approved as area coordinator and LaShirine Howard as hall director.

Approvals in the student affairs division included Jalon Berry, assistant director programs for multicultural affairs; April Chaney, compliance specialist for Title IX investigations; MacKenzie Enderwitz and Clare Fite, counselor interns; Julia Denhollem, student engagement coordinator for Greek Life; and Rhylie Gachot, assistant director for orientation.

In Academic Affairs, Stephanie Weatherford was approved as Academic Assistance and Resource Center program director, and Mary Smith, assistant director of instructional technology, was approved as interim director.

William Boucher was approved as Campus Recreation coordinator for fitness and wellness, and Tierney White was approved as coordinator in the Center for Career and Professional Development.

In the University Police Department, Lt. Marcus Madden was approved as interim associate director and assistant chief. Kallie Westmoreland was approved as accountant II in the Controller's Office.

Regents approved the retirements of employees with 113 years of combined service to the university. Shelly Lackey, director of divisional operations for university affairs; Sean Lonergan, assistant track coach; Phil Stetz, professor of management and marketing; Larry O'Neal, associate professor of management and marketing; and Treba Marsh, professor of accounting.

By University Marketing Communications
University Marketing Communications
(936) 468-2605