Stephen F. Austin State University


SFA Art students receive scholarships, awards

May 10, 2012
The recipients of SFA art scholarships and awards were announced during the opening of the 29th Art Alliance Spring Show. Those present to receive the awards include, back row, from left, Ryan Blackburn, Joseph Alford, Interim Director of the School of Art Chris Talbot, Christina Jimerson, Lauren Macharoni, Emile Gaultier, Max Smith and Heather Wobbe. Center row, from left, Mandy Clay, Jenifer Auvil, Megan Marcantel and Le'Anne Alexander. Front row, from left, Michelle Powers, Emily Yeats, Emily Grogan, Katherine Holmes and Cynthia Brown.

NACOGDOCHES, TEXAS - At the recent opening of the Stephen F. Austin State University Art Alliance Spring Show, Christopher Talbot, interim director of the SFA School of Art, announced the recipients of the 2012-2013 art scholarships.

Joseph Alford received the Carolyn and Richard Skurla Graduate Scholarship; Jenifer Auvil and Autumn Lumpkin each received a Piero Fenci Scholarship; Jessica Dunn, the Elsie Arscott Scholarship; Emilie Gaultier, the McKinney Scholarship; and Emily Grogan the Patricia Roberdeau Mast Scholarship.

Katherine Holmes received the Melba Cranford Memorial, the Debbie Simpson/Terry Miller Memorial, and the Stephen Weeks Memorial Scholarship. Christina Jimerson received the Art Alliance, the John and Doris Daniel, and the Lucille Fouts Raborn Scholarship.

Heather Wobbe received the Eloise Chambers Adams Art Scholarship and the Patricia Roberdeau Mast Scholarship. Emily Yeats received the Brian Philip Joseph LaBarbera Memorial and the Barbara Brown Schoenewolf Scholarship.

Michelle Smith, president of the SFA Friends of the Visual Arts, announced the recipients of that organization's scholarships and grants.

Gabrielle Monk and Pamela Erhardt each received Graduate Student Scholarships, and the following received Friendship Grants: Daniel Baugh, Travis Erxleben, Holly Haynes, Christina Jimerson, Elizabeth Milam, Nicholas Palella, Michelle Powers and Emily Yeats. Also, Joseph Alford, Andrei Bucur, Elizabeth Clark-Paterson, Casey Furche, Jeremiah Kelley, Michael Millichamp, Tiffanny Upshaw and Marie Santiago Velez.

Additionally, Meagan Rice was recognized as the Karl Schlicher Outstanding Art Graduate and Michelle Powers received the Chris and Yvette Sidnell Highest GPA Award.

By Sylvia Bierschenk
University Marketing Communications
(936) 468-2605