Stephen F. Austin State University


Concert commemorates composer Corelli's death

February 12, 2013
NACOGDOCHES - The Piney Woods Camerata, a conductor-less string ensemble composed of Stephen F. Austin State University music faculty members Jennifer Dalmas (violin) and Evgeni Raychev (cello) and select SFA string students, will present a concert at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 23, in Cole Concert Hall on the SFA campus.

The Piney Woods Camerata is concluding a six-year dedicated project of promoting the music from the Baroque and Classical periods with special emphasis on the concerti grossi written by Italian Baroque composer Arcangello Corelli, according to Raychev.

"The project was carefully planned to conclude with a performance that would commemorate the 300th anniversary of Corelli's death," Raychev said.

The program will include compositions by George Frideric Handel, Lorenzo Zavateri, Francesco Manfredini and Johann Sebastian Bach and will end with the final Concerto Grosso by Corelli, Op. 6 No. 12.

"The ensemble, which works without a conductor, strives to provide an opportunity for students to excel in their musical abilities through dynamic collaboration with professional musicians," Raychev said.

The concert, which is a joint presentation of the SFA College of Fine Arts and School of Music, is part of the Cole Performing Arts Series. Tickets are $5 for adults, $4 for seniors and $2 for students. For tickets or more information, call the Fine Arts Box Office at (936) 468-6407.

By Robbie Goodrich
University Marketing Communications
(936) 468-2605