Stephen F. Austin State University


SFA Sylvans win back-to-back forestry conclave championships

April 7, 2014
Members of the Stephen F. Austin State University Sylvans club display their Lumberjack pride and awards earned at the 57th annual Southern Forestry Conclave in Virginia. SFA captured first place overall, as well as placing first overall in both the technical and physical events.
NACOGDOCHES, Texas - A team of forestry students from the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture at Stephen F. Austin State University captured the championship trophy for the second straight year at the 57th annual Southern Forestry Conclave at Claytor Lake State Park in Virginia.

The SFA Sylvans Forestry Club placed first in dendrology, timber estimation, compass and pacing, underhand chop, women's bow saw, log birling, jack and jill crosscut and pole climbing. Fifteen universities accredited by the Society of American Foresters participated in this year's event, which was hosted by Virginia Tech.

In order to be successful at the annual competition, teams must do well in both technical and physical events. SFA's team, originally founded in 1946, has either placed first or second overall in 27 of the 29 yearly competitions. Aside from capturing first place overall, the team also placed first overall in both the technical and physical events.

Additionally, Ryan Assenheimer defeated all other southern region competitors in the Stihl Timbersports Collegiate Southern Qualifier Competition. Assenheimer placed third overall. He was one of only four competitors to finish the standing block event, and his performance will be broadcasted on ESPNU June 27.

The annual contest's purpose is to promote cooperation and friendly competition among schools, as well as establish and maintain a high standard of ethics among all students and professional foresters.

SFA students participating in the conclave were Assenheimer, Brian Blades, Brant Day, Mike Hartford, Chelsea Lopez, Conor McInnerney, Cade Smith, Courtney Williams, Paul Patterson, Tim Hoffpauir, Garret Lindsey, Barrett Raabe, John Burns, Sean Hoes, Ellart Vreugdenhill, Kirbee Bowman, Bryent Daugherty, Jared Gregory, Zach Ovelgonne, Cheyenne Smith and Jessica Vance.

For more information about the SFA Sylvans and/or the forestry and wildlife programs, visit or call (936) 468-3301.

By University Marketing Communications
University Marketing Communications
(936) 468-2605