Stephen F. Austin State University


2016 Schmidbauer Competition winners selected

February 2, 2016
Winners of the 2016 Schmidbauer Young Artist Competition at Stephen F. Austin State University are, front row, from left, Ethan Le, violin, first prize; Eric Chen, piano, second prize; and Alexander Davis-Pegis, cello, third prize. With the young musicians are, back row, from left, Carolyn Andrews, SFA Friends of Music Schmidbauer Committee chairwoman; Dr. A.C. "Buddy" Himes, dean of the College of Fine Arts; Dr. Gary Wurtz, interim director of the School of Music; and Dr. Gene Moon, competition chairman. Guest adjudicator for this year's event was Dr. Clifton Evans, director of orchestras at the University of Texas at Arlington. The annual competition for piano and strings offers prizes that include cash awards, scholarship incentives from the SFA School of Music and performance opportunities with orchestras.

By Robbie Goodrich
University Marketing Communications
(936) 468-2605