Stephen F. Austin State University


Art Scholarships announced for 2016 -2017 academic year

May 9, 2016
Among the 2016-2017 SFA art scholarship recipients and School of Art faculty members are, from left, Tristan Brewster-Arnold; Josh Welch; Jacob Moffett; Alexandra Rodrigues; Gabriela Hijar; Christopher Talbot, director of the School of Art; Shaun Roberts, assistant professor and scholarship committee chair; Carlton Herbert; Victoria Sturm; Sarah Jentsch; Jill Carrington, professor and award certificate preparer; Jacqueline Morales; Julia Lott; and Sherry Snowden.

NACOGDOCHES - Christopher Talbot, director of the School of Art at Stephen F. Austin State University, announced the recipients of SFA and Friends of the Visual Arts Scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year at the recent opening of the 33rd Annual Art Alliance Spring Show. More than $34,000 in scholarships was awarded.

Recipients included:

Tristan Brewster-Arnold, Cleveland junior, awarded a Patricia Roberdeau Mast Scholarship.

Sarah Jentsch, Etoile sophomore, awarded a Patricia Roberdeau Mast Scholarship.

Shelby Locklin, incoming freshman from Southlake, awarded a Regents Scholarship for housing.

Emily Attebery, incoming freshman from Tyler, awarded a Regents Scholarship for housing.

Gabriela Alejandra Hijar Soto, Creel, Mexico, graduate student, awarded the Piero Fenci Scholarship for Ceramic Arts.

Jacob Moffett, Hockley sophomore, awarded the Robert Kinsell Art Scholarship and the John and Doris Daniel Art Scholarship.

Alexandra Rodrigues, Montoursville, Pennsylvania, graduate student, awarded the Brian Philip Joseph LaBarbera Memorial Art Scholarship, the Debbie Simpson/Terry Miller Memorial Art Scholarship and the Stephen Weeks Memorial Art Scholarship.

Amber Law, incoming freshman from Pasadena, awarded the Art Alliance Scholarship and the Diane, Casey and Court Fouts Art Scholarship.

Krystal Hornung, incoming sophomore from Garden City, Kansas, awarded the Elsie Arscott Art Scholarship.

Jacqueline Morales, Plano junior, awarded the Gary Q. Frields Art Scholarship.

Josh Welch, Nacogdoches junior, awarded the Gary Parker Art Scholarship.

Victoria Sturm, Katy senior, awarded the Charles D. Jones Art Scholarship.

Julia Lott, Rockwall sophomore, awarded the Melba Cranford Memorial Art Scholarship.

Bailey Idom, Nacogdoches graduate student, awarded the Snyder Family Art Scholarship.

Jordan Weaver, incoming freshman from Buda, awarded the Jack R. and Claudine W. McKinney Memorial Art Scholarship.

Sherry Snowden, Nacogdoches sophomore, awarded the Barbara Brown Shoenewolf Art Scholarship.

Jessica Massey, Center junior, awarded the E. Diane Ford Art Education Scholarship.

Carlton Herbert, Longview graduate student, awarded the Carolyn and Richard Skurla Graduate Scholarship.

By Robbie Goodrich
University Marketing Communications
(936) 468-2605