Stephen F. Austin State University


SFA regents approve faculty and staff changes

October 24, 2017
From left: Kelly Noe, Leonard Thornton, Matthew Lindsey and Robert Crocker
NACOGDOCHES, Texas - Several new leaders were approved for Stephen F. Austin State University's Rusche College of Business during Monday's meeting of the Board of Regents.

Robert Crocker, professor and chair of the Department of Management and Marketing, will serve as associate dean of the business college. Matthew Lindsey, associate professor, was approved as chair of the Department of Management and Marketing. Kelly Noe, associate professor of accounting, was appointed chair of the Schlief School of Accountancy.

In the James I. Perkins College of Education, Leonard Thornton, associate professor of kinesiology and health science, was approved as chair of the department. Other status changes in the education college included Alison Cope, from adjunct faculty to visiting lecturer of secondary education and educational leadership; Elizabeth Gound, from visiting instructor of secondary education and educational leadership to instructor of elementary education; and Robyn Whitehead, from adjunct faculty to visiting assistant professor of kinesiology and health science.

Regents approved the appointment of 23 assistant professors representing each of the university's six colleges, including:

Rusche College of Business - Alan Campbell, accounting; Pamela Rogers, management and marketing; and Stephen Shrewsbury, business communication and legal studies;

Perkins College of Education - Jillian Dawes, human services; Michael Lemke and Melinda Watts, kinesiology and health science; and Brian Uriegas, secondary education;

College of Fine Arts - Samantha Inman, Kristin Lyman and Jacob Walburn, music; and Stephanie Murphy, theatre;

Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture - Candis Carraway, agriculture; Frantisek Majs, agriculture and director of the Soil, Plant and Water Analysis Lab; and Christopher Schalk, forestry;

College of Liberal and Applied Arts - Bailey Thompson, mass communication;

College of Sciences and Mathematics - James Adams, physics, engineering and astronomy; Brittney Falahola, Jacob Turner and Ryan Jensen, mathematics and statistics; John Gary and Xiaozhen Han, chemistry and biochemistry; Debra Gibbs, nursing; and Dae Glendowne, computer science.

Several additional faculty appointments were approved by regents Monday. In the James I. Perkins College of Education, regents approved appointments for Donna Fickes, clinical instructor of human sciences; Jeffrey Forsse, instructor of kinesiology and health science; Marym Lakhani and Sharon Rice, visiting lecturers of kinesiology and health science; Ronda McClain; lecturer of elementary education; Deena Petersen, clinical instructor of human services; and Raul Prezas, associate professor of human services.

Appointments in the College of Liberal and Applied Arts include Long Bui and Hunter Hampton, lecturers of history; Meta Henty, visiting lecturer of English and creative writing; Catherine Huh and Laurie Lawrence, lecturers of languages, cultures and communication; Paul Shockley, lecturer of multidisciplinary studies; Diane Sizemore, lecturer of social work and program director of child welfare professional development project and Title IV stipend program; Robert Velez, lecturer of government; and Michael Welsh, visiting assistant professor of languages, cultures and communication.

Regents approved the following changes of status in the College of Liberal and Applied Arts: Lisa Bentley, from visiting lecturer to lecturer of history; Suparna Chakraborty, from adjunct faculty to lecturer in history; Peyton Gooch, from adjunct faculty to lecturer in government; Sheila Jones, Eralda Lameborshi, Aaron Milstead and Dylan Parkhurst, from adjunct faculty to lecturers in English and creative writing; Billy Longino, from adjunct faculty to visiting assistant professor in English and creative writing; Thomas Reynolds, from visiting lecturer to lecturer in languages, cultures and communication; and Charles White, from adjunct faculty to visiting instructor of psychology.

New appointments in the Rusche College of Business included Nicole Brantley visiting lecturer of accounting, and Gerald Scott, lecturer of management and marketing. Regents also approved Laurie Rogers, former adjunct faculty member, as visiting assistant professor and Manuel Guerrero, former manager of vendor relations, as lecturer of business communication and legal studies.

Michael Murphy, associate professor of music, and Kenneth Verdugo, visiting assistant professor of theatre, received faculty appointments within the College of Fine Arts.

In the College of Sciences and Mathematics, new faculty members include Catherine Kwiatkowski, lecturer of chemistry and biochemistry; Laurel Matthews, clinical instructor of nursing; and Puntitra Sawadpong, visiting assistant professor of computer science. The following changes also were approved: Lorna DeSha, from graduate teaching assistant to lecturer in mathematics and statistics; Hazel Kimbrough, from adjunct faculty to clinical instructor of nursing; and Rebecca Self, from assistant coordinator to coordinator of the Simulation Lab in the DeWitt School of Nursing.

In the Steen Library, regents approved appointments for Melissa Clark, librarian III; Alexandra Schutz, librarian II; Cheryl Janusa and Michael Johnson, program directors of the Academic Assistance Resource Center; and Theunis Oliphant, former lecturer of management and marketing in the Rusche College of Business, as technology program coordinator in the Center for Teaching and Learning.

New appointments approved in the Department of Athletics included Rebeca Alvidrez, assistant women's basketball coach; Manual Bolanos and Kevin Meyer, assistant directors of athletic media relations; Tyler Boone, director of athletic development; Caleb Clowers, assistant men's baseball coach; Daniel DeLuca, assistant women's golf coach; and Kailee May, assistant volleyball coach. Approved staff changes included Charles Hurley, from assistant director to director of athletic media relations, and Kira Rubin, from assistant athletic trainer to athletic trainer.

Additional staff appointments include Walter Seaton, coordinator in Campus Recreation; Hsin-I Huang and Huyn Oh, music accompanists in the College of Fine Arts; and Taylor Anderson, hall director in Residence Life.

Additional changes of status include Michael Coffee, from assistant director of information technology services to interim chief information officer; Patricia Ashworth, from teller supervisor to assistant bursar; and Pamela Corman, from assistant bursar to bursar, Office of the Controller.

Further status changes approved by the board are John Calahan, from coordinator of academic space scheduling and utilization to coordinator of academic space scheduling and utilization and interim director of institutional assessment, Academic Affairs; Jennifer Hanlon, from assistant director to interim director of Research and Sponsored Programs; and Gavin McCarty, from manager of the SFA Post Office and interim director of printing to director of printing and postal services, Student Services.

Aryendra Chakravartty, assistant professor of history, was granted faculty development leave for spring 2018.

The board approved the retirements of the following faculty and staff members with 125 years of combined service to the university: Tim King, professor of music; Greg Patterson, lecturer of mass communication; Roger Dale Perritt, professor of agriculture; Jeffrey Watson, technology program coordinator; and Bobby Williams, bursar.

By University Marketing Communications
University Marketing Communications
(936) 468-2605