Andrew Hopkins Sr.

Former SFA football and track and field star Andrew Hopkins Sr. passed away Sept. 30 in Sugar Land. Hopkins, who was born in Crockett, was inducted into the SFA Athletics Hall of Fame in 1999. Only two individuals — Gus Johnson and Leonard Harris — accumulated more rushing yards in a Lumberjack uniform than Hopkins. He remains in the top 10 all-time in a number of SFA football statistical categories. In addition to his prowess on the gridiron, Hopkins earned a number of astounding achievements on the track. His school record time of 10.10 seconds in the 100-meter dash has stood since he set it in 1968. That same year, he was part of an SFA team that captured the national title in the 4x100-meter relay. During the 1968 National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics’ Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships, Hopkins participated in the 200-meter dash. He clocked a time of 20.9 seconds to become SFA’s first individual national champion in men’s track and field. Hopkins spent three seasons with the NFL’s Houston Oilers. He later played for the Canadian Football League where he also excelled, producing three seasons of 1,000 or more rushing yards.


Earl H. Milner Jr.

Earl H. Milner Jr. ’72, loyal supporter of SFA track and field and cross-country, passed away Aug. 30. During his time as a student, Milner served as manager for the track and field programs. He later worked for more than 18 years as the starter for SFA home track and field events, ensuring student-athletes got a fair and equal start for each race. Additionally, he helped when SFA hosted Southland Conference track and field and cross-country championship meets. Milner also assisted with high school track and field meets held on SFA’s campus. In 2016, SFA Athletics named the high school meet held at the Fletcher Garner Track “The Earl Milner Invitational” to honor his dedication to SFA track and field.

In Memoriam

Name Class Hometown Date
Shannon D. Abernathy 1983 Tyler Aug. 14
Cheryl Athey 1979 & 1985 Nacogdoches Aug. 6
Paula Beauchamp 1949 & 1952 Houston Sept. 2
William T. Bell 1948 Huntsville July 28
James Lowell Bogue 1954 & 1963 Timpson June 30
Michael B. Bonner 1986 Lufkin Sept. 7
Grove S. Brame 1980 Boerne July 4
Heather M. Butler 2010 Hurst Sept. 22
Bryce C. Cain 1997 Conroe Sept. 5
Sally A. Cassidy 1972 & 1978 Longview July 25
Glendell P. Chadwick 1971 & 1974 Carthage July 11
Kitty L. Chamness 1959 Austin July 21
Bobby Dean Coe Sr. 1959 Tyler Aug. 22
Steve A. Copeland 1972 & 1976 Hallsville July 27
Theresa McMurray Crenshaw 1991 & 1993 Bedford May 16
Matthew Raymond Flynn Staff Member Nacogdoches Sept. 27
Martha M. Gaston 1972 Nacogdoches Aug. 16
Caleb S. Gibbs SFA Student Nacogdoches Sept. 20
Jimmie C. Goodson 1972 Pollok Aug. 4
John Bernard Herson 1969 Denton Sept. 2
Charles J. Hock 1965 Houston July 29
Dr. Wayne E. Johnson Retired Professor, Political Science Farmington, Missouri July 23
Vernon R. Kemp 1979 Houston July 21
Charlotte Maluski Donor and Friend Houston Aug. 3
Al McLaren 1962 Denver, Colorado May 4
Desiree Michelle Morrison 2009 & 2011 Nacogdoches Aug. 15
Stephen E. Muslow 1973 Shreveport, Louisiana Sept. 11
Michael W. Narmour 1982 Ferrum, Virginia Sept. 1
Joel M. Nash 1964 Bellaire Sept. 4
Addison H. Neal SFA Student Van Sept. 6
Terrence T. Nied 1967 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania June 27
Fleda F. Olsen 1949 & 1952 Jasper Sept. 9
Jerry W. Piper 1974 Tyler June 24
Carol W. Poe 1988 Kingwood July 31
John D. Porter Jr. 1968 Marshall Sept. 19
Jean Powers 1965 & 1980 Nacogdoches Aug. 23
Frank E. Price 1947 & 1951 Huntsville Sept. 1
Joe F. Rabago Jr. 1996 & 1999 Houston Aug. 2
Tonya J. Reynolds 1985 Tyler Aug. 19
Alice Rhiddlehoover 1963 Carthage June 24
Betty S. Richards 1952 & 1969 Henderson June 23
Jose (Pigui) Felix Rodriguez Jr. 2012 Dallas July 15
Ret. Lt. Col. Auguste Runte 1969 Atascadero, California July 31
Cliff E. Sandoz 1987 Opelousas, Louisiana July 11
Russell Sarver 1995 Katy Sept. 9
James E. Scott 1961 Lake Jackson June 25
David W. Shepard 1977 Lufkin Aug. 7
Frances A. Shofner Friend Nacogdoches June 26
Jay E. Simonsen 1969 Pearland Sept. 18
Patsy L. Smith 1972 Dallas Sept. 19
Carrie L. Stevens 1979 Kaufman July 6
Linda G. Thompson 1981 & 1985 Pearland June 17
Charles R. Townes 1981 & 1985 Timpson June 29
Bertis Wells 1965 San Augustine Sept. 13
Dr. Roy D. Wilson 1952 Ben Wheeler July 31
Laura C. Winborn 1957 & 1974 Longview Aug. 7