Stephen F. Austin State University

Meet the Mentors

OMA Peer Mentors

You will have a Mentor who is a:

1. Positive Lumberjack Role Model:

2. Student Advisor:

3. Peer Coach:

Meet the 2018-2019 Peer-Mentors

Brianna Arceneaux
Brianna Arceneaux - Lead Peer Mentor Educational Background: Psychology

Brianna is a rising Senior from Katy, Texas. Her involvement includes:

What advice do you have for first year students?

"Try things out of your comfort zone. Being uncomfortable is part of the growing process."

Andrea Flores
Andrea Flores - Peer Mentor Educational Background: Social Work

What advice do you have for first year students?

"Feeling out of place during your first year on campus is something that many students will go through. Just know that there are people on campus that are here to help you and organizations that can help you find people who you relate to. So don't be afraid to."

Shamia Gipson - Peer Mentor Educational Background: Health Science

Shamia is a rising junior from Houston, Texas. Her involvement includes:

What advice do you have for first year students?

"Get involved with organizations that fit your interest, and take advantage of the many resources and activities that SFA has to offer!"

Ashley Hurst
Ashley Hurst - Peer Mentor Educational Background: Accounting

Ashley is a graduate student from Houston, Texas. She is currently a member of:

What advice do you have for first year students?

"Just breath. You are going to be okay. Also, learn all the lessons that you can!"

Kennedy Jones - Peer Mentor Educational Background: Marketing Major

Kennedy is a rising junior from Houston, Texas. Kennedy is currently involved with:

What advice do you have to first year students?

"In everything you do remember to prioritize and balance the many different things thrown at you. Whether it be homework, organizations, or your social life. Always have a balance and remember what's most important to you."

Kori Lewis - Peer Mentor Educational Background: Speech-Language Pathology

Kori is a rising sophomore from Frisco, TX. Her involvement include:

What advice would you give first year students?

"Going to events on campus is a great way to meet new people. Having a presence on campus makes the transition into college life easier."

Justin Vo - Peer Mentor Educational Background: Bachlors in Health Science

Justin is a graduate student from Houston, Tx. His involvement includes:

What advice do you have for first year students?

"Never be too afraid to ask questions in class!"

Faculty and Staff Mentors

Dr. Mary Hawkins

Associate Professor in the Department of Kinesiology

hawkinsmi@sfasu.edu

Dr. Deborah A. Sibila

Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
sibilad@sfasu.edu

Dr. Rebecca Parr

Assistant Professor of Biology

parrr1@sfasu.edu

Dr. Jonathan Mitchell

Assistant Professor of Math

mitchelljonat@sfasu.edu

Dr. Mikhail Kouliavtsev

Professor & Chair of College of Business

Kouliavtms@sfasu.edu

Veronica Weaver

Director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs

weavervb@sfasu.edu

Dr. Joyce Johnston

Professor of French & Multidisciplinary Degrees

jjohnston@sfasu.edu

Trina Menefee

Academic Advisor of Science & Math
tbenson@sfasu.edu

Dr. Jannah Nerren

Associate Dean of College of Education

Nerrenjanna@sfasu.edu

Emilee Soto, J.D.

Assistant General Counsel

sotoem@sfasu.edu

Dr. Paige R. Mask

Associate Professor of the Department of Human Services
maskp@sfasu.edu

Beverly Morehouse

Grant & Contract Specialist

morehousbj@sfasu.edu

Dr. Lauren Gonzalez

Assistant Professor of Elementary Education

gonzalezlk@sfasu.edu

D'nese Haddox

Associate Director of Residence Life

dhaddox@sfasu.edu

Dr. Jacqueline Cowan

Assistant Professor of English & Creative Writing
cowanjl@sfasu.edu

Dr. Shelby Gull Laird

Assistant Professor of Communications of Natural Resource Issues

lairdsg@sfasu.edu

Dr. Griselda Flores

Assistant Director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs
floresg3@sfasu.edu

Jonathan M. Helmke

Associate Director of Library Information Service

helmkej@sfasu.edu

Brittany Beck

Senior Admissions Counselor

beckbn1@sfasu.edu

Dr. Clive Muir

Department of Business Communication

muirc@sfasu.edu

Dr. Anjum Najmi

Librarian of Student Engagement

najmia@sfasu.edu

Nita Hudson

Music Lecturer and Assistant Director/Production Stage Manager

nhudson@sfasu.edu

Erica Chapman

Reference Librarian

erchapman@sfasu.edu