Stephen F. Austin State University

Secondary Education & Educational Leadership

Welcome to the Department of Secondary Education & Educational Leadership

Welcome! Our department offers programs across the life-span of 21st Century educators from initial teacher certification through advanced academic preparation in our doctoral program for educational leaders. Specific programs include the following:

Using the links on the left, please explore our website to find out more about our faculty and programs.


(click on name to email)

Gloria J. Gresham, Interim Chair
McKibben 404
Phone: (936) 468-2908

Kenneth Austin, Linda Black, Karen Embry-Jenlink, Patrick M. Jenlink, Amanda Rudolph

Associate Professors
Neill Armstrong, Heather Olson Beal

Assistant Professors
Chrissy Cross, Ali Hachem, Barbara Qualls, Brian Uriegas, Mychelle Smith, Amber Wagnon

Visiting Lecturer

Coordinator of Doctoral Program
Patrick M. Jenlink

Coordinator of Principal Program
Barbara Qualls

Coordinator of the Superintendent Certification Program
Barbara Qualls

Coordinator of the Secondary Teacher Education Program
Linda Black

Coordinator of the Graduate Secondary Teacher Education Programs
Amanda Rudolph