Six Stephen F. Austin State University faculty members will be honored for their teaching abilities at the annual SFA Teaching Excellence Convocation Thursday, April 16, in the Baker Pattillo Student Center Twilight Ballroom.

The 2009 honorees and the colleges they represent are: Dr. Beth Brice, general business, Nelson Rusche College of Business; Dr. Kim Archer, kinesiology, James I. Perkins College of Education; Dr. Stephen Lias, music, College of Fine Arts; Dr. Brian P. Oswald, forestry, Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture; Dr. Dianne Dentice, sociology, College of Liberal and Applied Arts; and Dr. Wayne C. Boring, chemistry, College of Sciences and Mathematics.

The Teaching Excellence Awards were established in 1994 to honor outstanding classroom teachers at SFA. Each of the university's six colleges selects a member of its faculty to receive the award based on knowledge of subject matter, quality of lectures and assignments, enthusiasm for teaching, interest in and availability to students, commitment to continuous improvement, and contribution to the quality of teaching within SFA through assistance and encouragement of other faculty members.

A reception for the honorees will be held at 3:15 p.m. followed by the Teaching Excellence Convocation at 3:45 p.m. The convocation will include introductions and awards by the deans of the respective colleges, as well as remarks by each of the honorees and Dr. John Moore, director of the SFA Teaching Excellence Center. A special presentation by Dr. Richard Berry, SFA provost and vice president for academic affairs, also is planned. The public is invited to attend.