The appointments of two new deans at Stephen F. Austin State University were approved by the Board of Regents Tuesday. Dr. Danny R. Arnold will lead the Nelson Rusche College of Business, and Dr. Judy A. Abbott will head the James I. Perkins College of Education. Both deans will begin their new duties Aug. 1.

Other faculty appointments within the College of Education include: Robbie Steward, chair and professor of human services; Vicki Seeger, assistant professor of elementary education; and Pamela Cheatham, Robin Johnson and Leah Kahn, instructors of elementary education.

Faculty appointed in the College of Fine Arts include: Joseph Alberti, assistant professor of theatre; Nathan Nabb, associate professor of music; and Linda Post, assistant professor of art.

The regents approved the following new faculty for the College of Liberal and Applied Arts: Weixia Chen, assistant professor of government; Steven Estrada, visiting assistant professor of psychology; Sarah Savoy, assistant professor of psychology; and Kierah Weber, instructor/intern of government.

Other faculty appointments were Kelly Gail Noe, assistant professor of accounting, and Jeremy Stovall, assistant professor of forestry.

Staff appointments approved by the regents include: Kenneth Felts, international programs coordinator; Kellen Sampson, assistant men's basketball coach; Lindsey Lee Morgan and Paul Nagy, assistant soccer coaches; A 'Quonesia Franklin, Jodi Greve and Andrew Majors, assistant women's basketball coaches; Kalen Smith, programmer analyst I for information technology services; Elma Gildenhuys, publication specialist for public affairs; and Sherry Anthony, biology lab coordinator.

The following staff appointments were approved for the Department of Residence Life: Genevra Lynn, program coordinator; Kyle McCracken, area coordinator; and Daniel Byars, Kayla Knox and Gabriela Osria, hall directors.

The Board of Regents also approved several changes of status within the Department of Information Technology Services. They include: Tristan Adams, from programmer analyst I to programmer Analyst II; Timothy Lewallen, from technical support specialist II to assistant manager of technical support; and Stephen Watson, from systems programmer II to systems manager.

Other changes of status include: Christy Leduff, from teacher to master teacher in the Early Childhood Lab; Gloria Gresham, from assistant professor to associate professor of education; Sara Wilkerson, from financial aid specialist I to financial aid officer; Christine Hennessey, from librarian II to research development specialist in the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; Kimberly Squyres, from graduate teaching assistant to visiting lecturer in communication and contemporary culture; Lynda Langham, from interim registrar to registrar; and Kenneth Norris from assistant director of facility and member services to interim director of campus recreation.

The Board of Regents also accepted the following retirements: Patty Ellison, associate professor of nursing; Sharron Graves, assistant professor of accounting; Janie Kenner, professor of human sciences; and Patrick Thurman, database III administrator for Information Technology Services.