Undergraduate academic achievements and research will be recognized at the annual Undergraduate Research Conference at Stephen F. Austin State University from 4 to 8 p.m. Thursday, April 22, in the Twilight and Grand Ballrooms of the Baker Pattillo Student Center.

More than 50 students from the university's six colleges will share research and projects from the previous academic year. Project topics represent a diversity of SFA student scholarship, including historical examinations of military families, the process of theatrical production, the viscosity of biodiesel fuels, the design of assisted living facilities, and shopping locally and creating a recycling program on a university campus.

"One of the things we are most proud of at SFA is the extent of meaningful engagement between faculty and students," said Dr. Richard Berry, provost and vice president for academic affairs. "The breadth and depth of undergraduate research on our campus is an excellent indicator of how much student-teacher interaction is going on. It all makes for a greatly enhanced educational experience for our undergraduate students."

Six University Scholars selected from each college will present an in-depth analysis of their research findings in the Twilight Ballroom. University Scholars include: Brian Jett, Nelson Rusche College of Business; Nathan Frischman, James I. Perkins College of Education; Ella Haag, College of Fine Arts; Max Wayne Jackson, Arthur Temple College of Forestry; Meredith May, College of Liberal and Applied Arts, and Amanda H. Nolan, College of Science and Mathematics.

The conference is open to the public. For more information or a detailed list of participants and their research topics, contact Dr. Elizabeth Tasker at (936) 468-2487 or taskerea@sfasu.edu.