Members of the Rusche College of Business leadership team pictured from left are (back row) Dr. Michael Pickard, chair of the Department of Computer science; Dr. Treba Marsh, director of the Schlief School of Accountancy; Dr. Joe Ormsby, chair of the Department of Management, Marketing & International Business; (front row) Ann Wilson, interim chair of the Department of General Business; Dr. Michael Stroup, interim dean; Dr. Debbie DuFrene, interim associate dean; Dr. Clifton Jones, chair of the Department of Economics & Finance.

The Nelson Rusche College of Business at Stephen F. Austin State University is among 63 business schools around the world that have successfully maintained their accreditation with the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International this year.

AACSB accreditation is the hallmark of excellence in business education and has been earned by fewer than five percent of the world's business schools. Achieving accreditation is a process of rigorous internal review, evaluation and adjustment. The business school is required to develop and implement a mission-driven plan to meet 21 standards that address quality teaching environment, a commitment to continuous improvement and curricula responsive to the needs of business.

"It takes a great deal of commitment and determination to earn and maintain AACSB accreditation," said Jerry Trapnell, executive vice president and chief accreditation officer of AACSB International. "Schools not only must meet specific standards of excellence, but their deans, faculties and staffs make a commitment to ongoing improvement to ensure that the institution will continue to deliver high quality education to students."

The Rusche College of Business earned initial accreditation with AACSB in 1976 and is on a five-year review cycle for maintenance of accreditation.

"Maintaining AACSB accreditation requires the continuous review of our progress as we work from being good to becoming great," said Dr. Michael Stroup, interim dean of the Rusche College. "Our successful reaccreditation was the result of critical teamwork between the faculty and the administration of our college. I am proud of our faculty because they have challenged themselves to become even better than we already are."