NACOGDOCHES, Texas - The Stephen F. Austin State University Board of Regents approved new faculty and staff appointments, changes of status, promotions and retirements at its regular meeting Tuesday.

Faculty appointments in the James I. Perkins College of Education include Jamie Cupit, instructor of human sciences; and Mark Faries and Cassity Gutierrez, assistant professors of kinesiology and health science. Tamey Anglley, lecturer of music and assistant director for bands; Jason Scott, assistant professor of theatre; and Toni Smith, visiting assistant professor of theatre, were appointed in the College of Fine Arts. Jen McClanaghan was appointed assistant professor of English in the College of Liberal and Applied Arts.

Staff appointments include the following in the athletics department: Damitria Buchanan, assistant women's basketball coach; Alexander Meng, assistant softball coach; and Jake Morrison, assistant football coach. Changes of status within the department include Benjamin Rikard, from athletic media relations assistant to assistant director of athletic media relations, and Nicholas Shaw, from graduate teaching assistant to assistant men's basketball coach.

Other staff appointments include: Heather Verell, Early Childhood Lab teacher; Charlene Rathburn, art gallery director; and Endia Knoten, residence hall director.

Several changes of status were approved in admissions, including: Toni Chandler, from regional admissions coordinator to senior regional admissions counselor; Maxwell Holmes, from graduate assistant to admissions counselor; Ryan Horne, from senior admissions counselor to assistant director of admissions; Kimberly Lower, from associate director of admissions-recruiting to associate director of admissions-data; Jessica Maynard, from assistant director of admissions to assistant director of admissions with additional duties; and Janet McLeroy, from admissions counselor to senior admissions counselor.

Additional changes of status at SFA include: Mary Nino, from associate director of Project ENLANCE to assistant professor of secondary education and educational leadership; Elizabeth Vaughan, from professor of elementary education to professor and chair of elementary education; Heather Catton, from international programs specialist to interim director of international studies; Don Clasquin, from assistant manager to manager of the SFA Post Office; Hollie Gammel-Smith, from interim director of student affairs to to assistant dean of student affairs-programs; and Michael Coffee, from database specialist II at the Columbia Center to manager of public safety technology at the University Police Department.

The Board of Regents also approved the following retirements: Ralph Busby, director of counseling and career services; William Gibson, professor of biology; and Walter Scalen, assistant professor of government.