NACOGDOCHES, Texas - The Stephen F. Austin State University Board of Regents approved new faculty and staff appointments, changes of status, promotions and retirements at its regular meeting Tuesday.

Geralyn Franklin was approved as the new associate dean of the Nelson Rusche College of Business and was granted tenure. Franklin earned a bachelor's degree and master's degree at SFA and received a doctorate in human resources from the University of North Texas. She was a faculty member at SFA from 1987 to 1998 and most recently served as dean of the business college at the University of Dallas.

Also in the business college, Marie Kelly was named lecturer of accounting. Changes of status included Carl Dunn, from instructor to lecturer of general business; Carol Wright, from lecturer to instructor of general business; and Laura Turner, from financial aid officer to academic adviser.

Faculty appointments in the James I. Perkins College of Education include Adam Akerson and Carolyn Stufft, instructors of elementary education; Todd Barrios, clinical instructor of human sciences; Susan Casey, assistant professor of elementary education; Adrian Decker, visiting instructor of elementary education; Nina Ellis-Hervey, assistant professor of human services; Tracy Hallak, instructor of Human Services; and Natalie Hensarling, assistant professor of human sciences.

Education staff appointments include Jennifer Bailey, associate director for Project ENLACE in secondary education; Sandra Delgado, associate project director for CTE Grant in human sciences; Lori Hines and Claire Miller, charter school teachers; and Kelly Jobe, clinical audiologist in human services. Changes of status within the college include Delbert Lloyd Graves, from adjunct faculty member to visiting lecturer of kinesiology and health science; Stacy Hendricks, from project coordinator of CERT Prep and project director of Deep East Texas to assistant professor of secondary education; Jennifer Kennon, from lecturer to instructor of human services; Michael Munro, from clinical instructor to instructor of human services; Tara Ann Newman, from assistant professor of human sciences to assistant professor and QEP director; and Emily Wilson, from teacher to master teacher in the Early Childhood Laboratory.

Faculty appointments in the College of Fine Arts include Eduardo Ortiz, visiting assistant professor of art, and David Studwell, visiting assistant professor of theatre. Changes of status in the fine arts college include Jackie Rosenfield, from visiting lecturer to senior lecturer in theatre, and Christopher Talbot, from associate professor of art to associate professor and interim director of the School of Art.

The Board of Regents approved two appointments in the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, including Christopher Koffskey, beef farm supervisor, and Zushang Su, research associate in the National Center for Pharmaceutical Crops.

Faculty appointments in the College of Liberal and Applied Arts include Ronnie Michael Booker, Tom McKinney and Colin Snider, visiting assistant professors of history. In addition, Emmerentie Oliphant was promoted from associate professor of social work to associate professor and Master of Social Work director in the college.

The following faculty appointments were approved in the College of Sciences and Mathematics: Erin Fucik and Justin Sullivan, biology lab coordinators; and Shelley Hunt, Janet King and Kellie Morse, clinical instructors of nursing. In addition, Mary Childs was named a research associate in the STEM Center. Changes of status in the college include Angela Johnson, from biology lab coordinator to lecturer of biology, and Tami Putnam, from casual employee to project coordinator in nursing.

Appointments in the Department of Athletics include: Cody Clark, assistant track coach; Jeremy Hadar, coordinator of athletic video production; Amber Lemke, head bowling coach; Robert McDermand, director of athletic academic services; Eleanor Meek, assistant track coach; and Kelly Tarrant, assistant soccer coach. In addition, Alexis Majors moved from academic adviser in the College of Business to athletic academic services assistant.

Additional staff appointments include Lauren Garcia and Vivian Kempt, admissions counselors; Jennifer Klingenberg, counselor, and John Mlinar, career counselor and research coordinator, both in the Department of Counseling and Career Services; Amanda Flores, assistant director of the Multicultural Center; and Kayla Bankhead, Erica Crafton and Hayley Landry, residence hall directors.

Additional changes of status approved by the regents include: Mary Nelle Brunson, from associate vice president for academic affairs to associate provost and dean of the Graduate School; Daphne Curl, from exam coordinator in Disability Services to manager of Testing Services; Sonja Hendry, from procurement contracting specialist to safety officer in Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management; and Earl Forney, from administrator database II to administrator database III in Information Technology.

Other changes of status include: Brooke Rodine, from assistant director to director of orientation; Randall Mark Scott, from AHEC coordinator to interim AHEC director; Rebecca Galatas, from administrative assistant to interim director of printing services;

Three changes of status were approved for the Office of Public Affairs. They are Robin Johnson, from internal communication specialist to publication specialist; Shirley Luna, from associate director of media relations to interim executive director; and Kayli Steger, from marketing communication assistant to internal communication specialist.

The Board of Regents also approved the following retirements at the meeting: Julia Ballenger, professor of secondary education; Paul Blackwell, director of the Columbia Center; Bobby Bryant, professor of human services; Mary Burton, manager of ITS operations; Jean Eldred, associate professor of communication and contemporary culture; Donna Franklin, safety officer; Janis Ritter, director of AHEC; and Catherine Simkunas, assistant director of testing services.