NACOGDOCHES, Texas - The Stephen F. Austin State University Board of Regents approved faculty and staff changes during its quarterly meeting Monday.

The following faculty appointments were approved for the James I. Perkins College of Education: Jane Grayson, assistant professor of kinesiology; James Rowe, instructor of kinesiology and health science; Susan Reily and Vicki Thomas, assistant professors of elementary education; and Nancy Shepherd, assistant professor of human sciences.

Appointments within the College of Fine Arts include: Richard Ellis, visiting assistant professor of theatre; Staci Spring, lecturer of music; and Tod Fish and Bradley Meyer, visiting assistant professors of music. The College of Sciences and Mathematics appointed the following in the Richard and Lucille DeWitt School of Nursing: Candace Carter, Melissa Huggins, Celina Serna and Veronica Sjolander, clinical instructors of nursing.

Other faculty appointments approved Monday include: Erica Chapman and Marlinda Karo, librarians I; Corrie Marsh, associate director of library information services; Vance Imhoff, lab biology coordinator; and Stacia Prince, lecturer of mathematics and statistics.

Staff appointments within the Department of Athletics include the following: Ted Smith, director of athletic development; Casey Finnell, athletic academic services assistant; Shane Carlisle, Brent Gallagher and Maureen McReynolds, coordinators of athletic marketing; James Hoefer, assistant football coach; Erik Pastrana, assistant men's basketball coach; Jamila Ganter, assistant women's basketball coach; and Josh Lammert, athletic trainer.

Appointments within three academic colleges were approved, including Sarah Lammert and Eileen Meyers, charter school teachers; and Stephanie Strahl, academic adviser in the Perkins College of Education; Hannah Berlund and John Sperry, academic advisers in the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture; and Mallory Maisel, assistant lab coordinator of nursing in the DeWitt School of Nursing, and Julie Sandifer, coordinator of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics STEM outreach in the College of Sciences and Mathematics.

The following staff appointments also were approved: Steven Whitman, coordinator of outdoor pursuits, and Jessica Varlack, coordinator of aquatics and safety, in Campus Recreation; Matthew Romig, safety officer for environmental health, safety and risk management; and Courtney Douglas, residence life program coordinator; and Hannah Ko and Jessica Stout, hall directors for the Department of Residence Life.

Other staff appointments include: Kerron Joseph, director of the Academic Assistance and Resource Center program; Clayton Harrington, director of parking and traffic; Derek Snyder, coordinator of alumni marketing communications; Justin McAninch, risk and compliance auditor; Jeffrey Schulz, counselor; Daniel Davis, programmer/analyst I in information technology services; Jamie Peno, compliance officer in the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; Jessica DeWitt, project coordinator for the physical plant; and Anita McGee, early intervention coordinator.

Regents also approved changes of status within the Nelson Rusche College of Business, including Jack Ethridge, from professor of accounting to professor and director of the MBA program; George Hunt, from associate professor of business to associate professor and interim director of the School of Accountancy; and Mikhail Kouliavtsev, from associate professor of economics and finance to associate professor and director of the MBA program.

Staff changes of status within the Perkins College of Education include: Deborah Buswell, from associate professor of kinesiology to associate professor and interim chair of the Department of Kinesiology and Health Science; Cyndra Krogen-Morton, from visiting lecturer of kinesiology to visiting instructor of kinesiology; Patrick Jenlink, from professor of secondary education to professor and doctoral program coordinator; and Louann Williams, from lead teacher to master teacher in the Early Childhood Lab.

The following changes in status also were approved for the College of Sciences and Mathematics: Mary Elizabeth Lockhart, from research associate for the STEM Center to coordinator of STEM academics; John Moore, from professor of biology to professor and interim chair of the Department of Biology; Jana Redfield, from project coordinator of the STEM Center to assistant director of the STEM Center; and Horace Strong, from project coordinator to academic adviser in the DeWitt School of Nursing.

Other changes of status at SFA include:

Academic Advising - Brandy Bishop, from administrative assistant to academic adviser;

Athletics - Kenneth Bybee, from athletics media relations assistant to assistant director of athletics media relations;

Controller - Jacob Seamans, from plant operations specialist for the physical plant to accountant II;

Development - April Smith, from assistant director to associate director of development; Craig Turnage, from major gift officer to development officer; and Trey Turner, from major gift officer to executive director of development;

Information Technology Services - Travis Killen, from tech support specialist III to systems programmer I;

Student Affairs - Whitney Koltonski, from coordinator of early intervention to counselor; and Michael Walker, from associate professor of psychology to assistant dean of student affairs for support services;

Student Services - Gary Wallace, from postal clerk III to assistant manager of the post office;

The Board of Regents also approved the following retirements: Billy Duren, office of the controller; Richard Kennedy, information technology services; Benjamin Koerth, research associate; and James Kroll, professor of forestry in the Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture; Madalene Miller, Rusche College of Business; Joseph Ormsby, professor in the Department of Management, Marketing and International Business; and Bernice Wright, Steen Library. Manny Brand, music, was granted tenure by the board.