Scott Shattuck

Scott Shattuck

NACOGDOCHES, Texas - Six faculty members were appointed to new leadership positions at Stephen F. Austin State University by the Board of Regents Tuesday.

Scott Shattuck, associate professor and director of the School of Theatre, was appointed associate dean of the College of Fine Arts. Shattuck came to SFA in 2007 from New York City, where he led the theatre and media program at Marymount College of Fordham University. He is co-author of "The Director's Vision," second edition and has performed onstage in various roles throughout his career. Shattuck received his Bachelor of Arts from Colorado State University and his Master of Fine Arts from the University of Texas at Austin.

Also within the College of Fine Arts, Gary Wurtz, professor of trumpet, was named the director of the School of Music. Wurtz began his SFA career in 1992 and has since served the university by directing the Jazz Band, the Trumpet Ensemble and SFA Summer Band Camps; working as the assistant director for undergraduate studies of the School of Music; and directing and performing in the Pineywoods Brass Quintet. He holds a Bachelor of Music Education from West Texas A&M University and a Master of Music Education and doctoral degree from the University of North Texas.

In the Nelson Rusche College of Business, Professor Marsha Bayless was appointed chair of the Department of Business Communication and Legal Studies. Bayless' teaching areas include business communication, records management and managerial communication. She received her bachelor's and master's degrees from Emporia State University and her doctorate from Oklahoma State University.

Additionally, Mikhail Kouliavtsev, professor and director of the Master of Business Administration program at SFA, was named chair of the Department of Economics and Finance. His research has been published in journals such as Economic Inquiry, Review of Industrial Organization and Review of International Economics. Kouliavtsev received his Bachelor of Arts from Lyon College and his Master of Arts and doctoral degree from Temple University.

A professor in the College of Sciences and Mathematics, Lesa Beverly was promoted to chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics. Beverly joined the SFA faculty in 2004 and received her Bachelor of Science from the University of Virginia's College at Wise and Master of Science and doctoral degree from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Her research interests range from standardized testing to mathematics education and teacher preparation, and her work has been published in various journals and publications.

Marc Guidry, professor of English and associate dean, will serve as interim dean of the College of Liberal and Applied Arts while Dean Brian Murphy is on a leave of absence until Sept. 19. Guidry holds a Bachelor of Arts in English from Loyola University New Orleans and a Master of Arts and doctorate in English from Louisiana State University.

SFA's Board of Regents also approved the following faculty appointments within the Nelson Rusche College of Business: Kacie Czapla, senior lecturer of accounting; Ashley Hall, assistant professor of business communication and legal studies; Calee Holcombe, assistant professor of accounting; Vijetha Koppa, assistant professor of economics and finance; Wayne Tervo, associate professor of accounting; and Jeffrey Whetzel, lecturer of management, marketing and international business.

Approved faculty appointments within the James I. Perkins College of Education's Department of Kinesiology and Health Science include Derek Cegelka, assistant professor, and Mary Hawkins, associate professor.

Within the College of Fine Arts' School of Theatre, Mark Hawkins was approved as senior lecturer, and Barrett Billew was appointed assistant professor.

The board approved the faculty appointment of Kathryn Kidd as assistant professor of forestry within the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture.

Faculty appointments within the College of Liberal and Applied Arts include Jose Carbajal, assistant professor of social work; John Pruit, assistant professor of anthropology, geography and sociology; and Shanta Scott, clinical instructor of social work.

Candice Cloud, librarian I, and Jonathan Helmke, associate director of library information services, were appointed to faculty positions within the Steen Library.

The board also approved staff appointments Tuesday within the Department of Athletics: Brandon Bernard, athletic marketing coordinator; Derrick Jones and Wade Mason, assistant men's basketball coaches; and Keith Christopher and Kayla Scott, athletics team operations coordinators.

Additional staff appointments include Jane Ann Bridges, risk and compliance auditor in Audit Services; Carol Gilliland, academic adviser in the Nelson Rusche College of Business: Amie Simmons, coordinator of fitness and wellness programs, Campus Recreation; Kendall Dotson, admissions counselor, Enrollment Management; Emilee Soto, assistant general counsel; Stacy Little, programmer/analyst I, Information Technology Services; Tetyana Kucher, programs coordinator in the Office of International Programs; Carolyn White, program director of the Academic Assistance and Resource Center; William Avery, area coordinator in the Department of Residence Life; Canaan Daniels, student engagement coordinator, and Emily Jefferson, assistant director of orientation programs, Student Affairs Programs; and Kimberly Whitley-Gaynor, communications specialist in University Marketing Communications.

Regents also approved the following changes of status:

Chelsea Heidbrink, from academic adviser in business to coordinator of student success, Academic Affairs;

Rachel Jumper, from assistant director of institutional assessment to assistant professor of human sciences; and Kelly Morgan, from administrative assistant to academic adviser, James I. Perkins College of Education;

Kara Goodson, from admissions counselor to academic adviser, Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture;

Lerin Blackmon, from admissions counselor to admissions coordinator, International Studies;

Rebecca Galatas, from administrative assistant to contracting specialist, Procurement and Property Services;

Zachary Wisniewski, from assistant supervisor to supervisor of library access services; Hayley Gillen, from program associate in education to library acquisitions/loans supervisor, Steen Library;

Sylvester Harris, from student engagement coordinator for activities to student engagement coordinator for Greek Life, Student Affairs Programs;

Jamie Bouldin, from forestry academic adviser to director of the Center for Career and Professional Development; Brandi Derouen, from career services coordinator to assistant director of the Center for Career and Professional Development; and Cyndra Krogen-Morton, from visiting lecturer of kinesiology and health science to compliance specialist (Title IX), Student Affairs Support Services;

Gavin McCarty, manager of the SFA post office with additional responsibilities as interim director of printing services; and Nick Stallworth, from manager of guest services to associate director of the Baker Pattillo Student Center, Student Services; and

Marcus Madden, from sergeant to lieutenant, University Police Department.

The board approved retirements of the following faculty and staff members with 145 years of combined service to the university: Diana Boubel, director of procurement and property services; Carrie Brown, director of research and sponsored programs; Ann Ellis, librarian IV; Jill Hines, Charter School teacher; Melissa McMillian-Cunningham, senior lecturer of theatre; Evelyn Pierce, supervisor of library access services; and Becky Price-Mayo, lecturer of social work.