Among the recent School of Art scholarship and award winners are, front, from left, Jacqueline Morales, Gabriela Hijar Soto, Bailey Crow, Korey Burns, Katie Liller, Sarah Jentsch, Shelby Locklin, Sherry Snowden, Jimmy Don Snowden, back, from left, Chris Wicker, Emily Buckland, Christopher Talbot, director of the School of Art, Austin Cullen and Jacob Moffett.

NACOGDOCHES, Texas - Christopher Talbot, director of the School of Art at Stephen F. Austin State University, announced the recipients of SFA and Friends of the Visual Arts scholarships for the 2017-18 academic year and other awards at the recent opening of the 34th Annual Art Alliance Spring Show. More than $35,000 in scholarships was awarded.

Recipients and their scholarships and other awards presented included:

  • Emily Buckland, Grapevine sophomore, awarded a Patricia Roberdeau Mast Scholarship.
  • Bailey Crow, Pinehurst freshman, awarded a Patricia Roberdeau Mast Scholarship.
  • Delaney Hahn, incoming freshman, awarded a Regents Scholarship for housing.
  • Sarah Bone, incoming freshman, awarded a Regents Scholarship for housing.
  • Gabriela Alejandra Hijar Soto, Creel, Mexico, graduate student, awarded the Piero Fenci Scholarship for Ceramic Arts.
  • Jacqueline Morales, Plano senior, and Jacob Moffett, Hockley junior, share the Eloise Chambers Adams Art Scholarship.
  • Tristan Brewster-Arnold, Cleveland senior, awarded the Charles D. Jones Art Scholarship and John and Doris Daniel Art Scholarship.
  • Sarah Clark, Cypress sophomore, awarded the Diane, Casey and Court Fouts Art Scholarship.
  • Katherine Daniel, Haslet sophomore, awarded the Elsie Arscott Art Scholarship.
  • Korey Burns, Grayson, Louisiana, graduate student, awarded the Gary Parker Art Scholarship.
  • Shelby Locklin, Southlake freshman, awarded the Gary Q. Frields Art Scholarship.
  • Sherry Snowden, Nacogdoches junior, awarded the Art Alliance Scholarship.
  • Austin Cullen, Cypress sophomore, awarded the Melba Cranford Memorial Art Scholarship.
  • Jimmy Don Snowden, Nacogdoches graduate student, awarded the Snyder Family Art Scholarship.
  • Sarah Jentsch, Etoile junior, awarded the Brian Philip Joseph LaBarbera Memorial Art Scholarship, the Debbie Simpson/Terry Miller Memorial Art Scholarship, the Stephen Weeks Memorial Art Scholarship and the Ed and Gwen Cole Dean's Award in Art.
  • Chris Wicker, Nacogdoches junior, awarded the W.H. and Bennie Atkinson Gray Scholarship.
  • Katie Liller, Cypress sophomore, awarded the Robert Kinsell Art Scholarship.
  • Ethan Donart, incoming freshman, awarded the Friends of the Visual Arts Incoming Undergraduate Scholarship.
  • Alex Morris received the E. Diane Ford Art Education Award.
  • Jamal Cole, Nacogdoches junior, received the Emily R. Hargraves Art Award.
  • Randi Vinson Davis of Henderson, who graduated in December 2016, was chosen the Karl Schlicher Outstanding Art Graduate for 2016-17.