NACOGDOCHES, Texas — Seven Stephen F. Austin State University faculty members will be honored this week for their outstanding contributions to the classroom during the Teaching Excellence Awards Convocation, which recognizes one individual from each of SFA’s six colleges and a seventh chosen by the Faculty Senate.

The convocation will be from 1:30 to 3 p.m. Thursday, April 4, in the Baker Pattillo Student Center Regents’ Suites A and B. The event is free and open to the public.

Honorees include Dr. Jason Reese, assistant professor of marketing; Dr. Mark S. Montgomery, assistant professor of elementary education; Dr. Deb Scott, professor of music; Dr. John Mehaffey, associate professor of agriculture; Dr. John C. Pruit, assistant professor of sociology; Dr. Matthew A. Beauregard, professor of mathematics and statistics; and Jackie Rosenfeld, senior lecturer of theatre.

Begun in 1994, SFA’s Teaching Excellence program is an opportunity to recognize individuals for their excellence as teachers. The selection is based upon a number of criteria, including knowledge of subject matter, quality of lectures and assignments, and enthusiasm for teaching, among others.