Stephen F. Austin State University’s Board of Regents approved promotions and the appointment of new faculty and staff members during its quarterly meeting.

Faculty appointments for the Rusche College of Business included Oscar Gonzales, lecturer, and Raymond Jones, assistant professors, management and marketing; Jamie Humphries, assistant professor, and Lucia Sigmar, associate professor, business communication and legal studies; Beverly Mendoza, assistant professor, economics and finance; and Janet Jones and Stephanie Ross, assistant professors, accounting.

Faculty appointments for the James I. Perkins College of Education included Ralf Schuster, visiting assistant professor, and Jamie Flowers and Leigh Kirby, assistant professors, human services; Amanda Moore and John Stewart, assistant professors, Sarah Sanchez, visiting assistant professor, Victoria Wagner-Greene and Kristina White, instructors, kinesiology and health science; and Christian Pigg, visiting lecturer, elementary education.

Ashley McDaniel was appointed as a teacher for the Early Childhood Laboratory, and the following changes were approved: Brittany Fish, from coordinator of student success to visiting assistant professor of human sciences; Stephanie Schwartz, from substitute teacher to teacher at the SFA Charter School; and Nathaniel Walker from adjunct faculty in agriculture to visiting assistant professor of human sciences.

Faculty appointments for the College of Fine Arts included Eden Collins, visiting assistant professor, and Margaret Leysath, assistant professor, art; Kristen Blossom, visiting assistant professor, theatre; and Gregory Grabowski, assistant professor/director of orchestra, and Claire Murphy, assistant professor, music education.

Adjunct faculty member Carlos Gaviria was named lecturer of music, and Tyler Cureton was named technical director for theatre.

Mike Tiller was appointed visiting lecturer of forestry, and Cobey Hendry was appointed supervisor of the beef farm.

Faculty appointments for the College of Liberal and Applied Arts included Christina Collins and Lenola Wyatt, visiting lecturers, social work; Kimberly Fruge, visiting assistant professor, and Rebecca Mcelyea, lecturer, government; Mitchell Klingenberg, lecturer, history; and Joseph Stepniewski, visiting assistant professor, mass communication.

The following changes also were approved: Hunter Hampton, from lecturer to assistant professor of history; Catherine Huh, from lecturer of languages, culture and communication to visiting assistant professor of mass communication; Brittany Middlebrook, from adjunct faculty to lecturer of languages, culture and communication; Mario Morera Jimenez, from adjunct faculty to visiting assistant professor of languages, culture and communication; Jessica Sams, associate professor in English and creative writing to associate professor of languages, culture and communication; and Carolyn White, director of the Academic Assistance and Resource Center to lecturer in history.

Faculty appointments for the College of Sciences and Mathematics included Jennifer Gaston, clinical instructor, nursing; Carmen Montana-Schalk and Lindsay Porter, assistant professors, biology; Marissa Rotenberry and Anali Segura, lecturers, mathematics and statistics; and Bidisha Sengupta, assistant professor, chemistry. Ashley Wahlberg was appointed lab coordinator for biology.

In the Department of Athletics, Brandi Bryant was approved as associate director of student athlete services and strategic initiatives. Karl Berry was appointed as program director, and Matthew Sheehan was appointed assistant coach of women’s golf operations. Changes of status approved include Brandon Bernard, from coordinator of athletic marketing to director of athletic program (fan experience); Charles Hurley, from director of athletic media relations to director of athletic program (strategic communications); Robert McNulty, from assistant athletic trainer to athletic trainer; Kevin Meyer, from assistant director athletic media relations to assistant director of athletic program (strategic communications); Korbin Pate, coordinator of athletic video production to director of athletic program (marketing and revenue generation); and Kirk Turner, from coordinator of athletic marketing to director of athletic program (digital media).

In Residence Life, staff appointments were approved for hall directors Alisha Blach, Robert Carpenter and Erin Pratico.

Other appointments included Dennis Mosely, coordinator, community standards; Natalie Buuck, coordinator for disability services support, disability services; Erica Nordlund, coordinator, student engagement; Susan Jones, assistant director, financial aid operations; and Carrie Charley, director of auxiliary services, student center administration.

Changes of status include Javier Vega, from preparator in art to director of the AARC; Kimberly Deckard, from counselor to assistant director of admissions; Amy Camacho, from administrative assistant in economics and finance to analyst in institutional research; Amanda Pruit, from clinical instructor in human services to director in the office of community standards; Heather Howell, from executive assistant to executive assistant and interim special assistant to the president; Hillary Parish, from manager of staff services to assistant director of physical plant; Christine Broussard, from senior marketing communications specialist to coordinator of marketing communications; and Lacey Folsom, from director of student engagement to director of student engagement and interim assistant dean of students.

Three longtime faculty members, Patrick Jenlink, Susan Jennings and Ann Wilson, were honored with the title of professor emeritus.

Jenlink joined the SFA faculty in 1997 and served as the doctoral program coordinator and professor for the Department of Secondary Education and Educational Leadership.

Joining the faculty in 2000, Jennings served as a professor in the Department of Business Communication and Legal Studies and as the general business and online Bachelor of Business Administration coordinator.

Wilson joined the faculty in 2003 and served as a professor in the Department of Business Communication and Legal Studies and as the associate dean for Student Services.

Regents approved the retirements of employees with 58 years of combined service: Kay Halstead, librarian III, and Joanna Jones, teacher in the Early Childhood Laboratory.