An eight-member screening committee will assist with the evaluation of presidential candidates for Stephen F. Austin State University. The committee will work with the Dallas-based executive search firm R. William Funk & Associates, hired during a recent meeting of the SFA board.

"The selection of the next president of SFA is the responsibility of the Board of Regents, and in accordance with the Board's Rules and Regulations, we will consider candidates whose names are brought forward by the committee," said Brigettee Henderson, chair of the Board of Regents.

In addition to Regents Nelda Blair, secretary; Alton Frailey, vice chair; and Henderson, screening committee members include Dr. Jason Reese, assistant professor of management and marketing and chair of the SFA Faculty Senate; Erma Nieto Brecht, executive director of enrollment management; Jeffrey Agouna-Deciat, president of SFA's Student Government Association; Charlotte Ashcraft, president-elect of the SFA Alumni Association and vice president of Commercial Bank of Texas; and Robert Flores, CFO of Elliott Electric.

"This group is inclusive and reflective of the SFA community, and we appreciate the willingness of each committee member to serve in this important role," Henderson said.

The late Dr. Baker Pattillo served as president of SFA from 2006 through 2018.