NACOGDOCHES, Texas — Students working for Stephen F. Austin State University’s campus media outlets were recognized with a combined 20 awards for journalistic excellence at the 2019 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association’s annual convention and competition held March 13 through 16 in Corpus Christi.

The Pine Log, SFA’s student newspaper, garnered eight accolades for content produced during the 2018 calendar year, including overall excellence newspaper, first place overall web design and first place special print design for the 2018 Welcome Edition, which was mailed to the homes of new students in August.

In addition, SFA-TV2 was recognized with three awards for previously published content, including first place in-depth video. KSAU radio received two awards, including second place overall excellence radio program for “Between the Lines.” The Stone Fort yearbook also received two awards for the 2018 edition, including honorable mention overall excellence yearbook.

In the previously published contests, SFA students compete against their peers at institutions with similar enrollment and program size. Ten SFA students attended the conference and participated in on-site contests, competing head-to-head with journalism students from other TIPA member institutions, regardless of size.

For their work in these “live” events, student members of The Pine Log staff received five awards. Recipients were Shannon Poe, copy editor and life and arts editor, first place radio news writing; Meaghan Morton, editor-in-chief, second place magazine design; Ana Conejo, video editor, third place live video news; Alyssa Faykus, design editor and social media editor, honorable mention public relations release writing; and Kayleigh East, photographer, honorable mention feature photo.

In addition, LaShauna Bell, photo editor for The Pine Log, was awarded TIPA’s prestigious Frank Buckley Scholarship.

“The TIPA convention and competition is an opportunity to showcase the work produced by our talented students throughout the year as they gain real-world experience contributing to our on-campus media outlets,” said Amy Roquemore, SFA director of student publications and divisional media and adjunct faculty member in the mass communication department. “These accolades are a testament to the skill and determination of SFA students preparing to enter the mass communication field, and it is a joy and privilege to work with them every day.”

Roquemore accompanied the students to the convention, along with Rachel Clark, SFA student publications coordinator and yearbook advisor.

Morton, a senior mass communication major from Trinidad, represented SFA at the conference for the second consecutive year. She said it was exciting to see SFA student media recognized as being among the best in the state of Texas.

“TIPA is such a refreshing experience for me every year, and I always look forward to sharing it with students who are attending for the first time,” Morton said. “You are among like-minded people who want the same things as you — to win and become a better publication.”

Established in 1909 at Baylor University, TIPA is the largest and oldest collegiate press association in the United States. Approximately 275 students representing 29 of TIPA’s 60-member institutions attended the 2019 conference.

The following is a complete listing of TIPA awards presented to SFA students at the conference:

The Pine Log

  • Overall excellence newspaper — staff
  • First place, overall design website — staff
  • First place, special design print (Welcome Edition) — staff
  • First place, radio news writing — Shannon Poe, copy editor and life and arts editor
  • Second place, magazine design — Meaghan Morton, editor-in-chief
  • Third place, live video news — Ana Conejo, video editor
  • Third place, static ad design — Tyler Fisher, former ad manager
  • Third place, editorial — Alyssa Faykus, design editor and social media editor
  • Honorable mention, editorial — Juwan Lee, former opinions editor
  • Honorable mention, public relations release writing — Alyssa Faykus, design editor and social media editor
  • Honorable mention, feature photo —  Kayleigh East, photographer
  • Honorable mention, critical review — Alyssa Faykus, design editor and social media editor
  • Honorable mention, feature page design — Meaghan Morton, editor-in-chief

Stone Fort

  • Honorable mention, overall excellence — staff
  • Honorable mention, yearbook sports page design — Tyler Fisher, former editor-in-chief, and Russell Zahradnik, editor-in-chief


  • First place, in-depth video — Luke Hamilton
  • Second place, feature news video — Casey Cook
  • Second place, general news video — staff


  • Second place, overall excellence radio program — staff
  • Second place, advertising PSA audio — Dale Rives