The Steen Library at Stephen F. Austin State University is officially under new leadership as a result of action Tuesday during the quarterly meeting of the SFA Board of Regents.

Jonathan Helmke, who formerly served as associate director of the library, was approved by regents as the library director. A member of the SFA staff since 2016, Helmke earned a bachelor’s degree in political science and business administration from Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa, and a Master of Library Science from Indiana University Bloomington.

He replaces Shirley Dickerson, who recently retired.

Other appointments and promotions approved by regents included Robert Allen, lecturer of accounting; Vicki Mokuria, visiting assistant professor of secondary education; and William Jones, lecturer of filmmaking.

The following changes were approved: Kristina White, from instructor to assistant professor, kinesiology and health sciences; John Kidd, from academic advisor to instructor, forestry; Michael Walker, from assistant dean, student affairs support services, to associate professor, psychology; Edward Michaels, from lecturer to lecturer/director, sciences and mathematics; and Joann Black, from assistant to the dean of sciences and mathematics to assistant to the SFA president.

In the Department of Athletics, Evan Luecke was approved as program director – digital media, Tony Minatta was named head women’s soccer coach, Mitch Vanya was appointed assistant men’s basketball coach, and Kevin Young was appointed assistant director athletic external affairs. William Crittenden, former head coach of women’s soccer, was approved as athletic program director for ticket operations and business development, and Kevin Meyer is now serving as athletic program director for strategic communications.

In Academic Affairs, Shannon Morrison was appointed coordinator of student success. Changes of status include Raquel Skidmore, from coordinator student success to interim chair/department head, and Megan Weatherly, from coordinator instructional design to interim director instructional technology.

Other appointments include Nashae Turner, director of counseling clinic, human services; Randy Laird and Robert Williams, programmer/analyst I, information technology services; Morgan Briles and Candice Cloud, librarian II, library; Ryan Dietrich, manager of staff services, and Allyson Gallier, accountant II, physical plant; and Michara Delaney-Fields, assistant dean for equity, diversity and inclusion, student affairs.

Other changes of status include Derek Snyder, from coordinator alumni communications and sponsorships to director, alumni relations; Judith Kruwell, from director, financial services, to interim director, human resources; Daniel Davis, from programmer/analyst III to programmer/analyst IV, and Brandon Stringfield, from security specialist II to chief information security officer, information technology; Amanda Willoughby, from accounting clerk III to business manager, physical plant; Elizabeth Roshell, from program coordinator to area coordinator, residence life operations; Clare Fite, from intern to counselor, counseling services; Korbin Pate, from athletics program director to development officer II, development; and Kirk (Travis) Turner, from athletics program director to coordinator, alumni relations.

Regents approved the retirements of employees with 93 years of combined service: Judith Buckingham, coordinator of board affairs, board of regents; Cynthia Devlin, adjunct faculty, history; Loretta Doty, director, human resources; Shiyou Li, director of pharmaceutical crops/research professor, forestry; Leann Solmonson, professor, human services; Janet Tareilo, associate provost, academic affairs; and Jacquelyn Vose, programmer/analyst III, information technology services.