NACOGDOCHES, Texas — The Stephen F. Austin State University Board of Regents honored the former SFA provost with the title administrator emeritus at the group’s quarterly meeting.
Dr. Steven Bullard, former provost and vice president of academic affairs, started at SFA in 2009 as dean of the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, and served as the Henry M. Rockwell Chair in forestry from 2015 until his retirement June 30. 
“Dr. Bullard has a steadfast commitment and dedication to this great university,” said SFA President Scott Gordon. “He has been and continues to be an outstanding leader, mentor and inspiration to his colleagues, students and the entire campus community.”
In the Rusche College of Business, regents approved Antoine Busby as assistant professor of management, and Amy Mehaffey was approved as lecturer of management and marketing.
Regents approved the appointment of Beverly Jackson as clinical instructor of education studies and James Williams as clinical instructor/program director of human sciences in the Perkins College of Education.
Christina Pigg was promoted from visiting lecturer to lecturer in education studies, and Christina Sinclair was promoted to education studies interim chair. Michael Walker, associate professor of psychology, was approved as interim chair of human services and educational leadership.
Crystal Adams was approved as director of the Early Childhood Lab, and Jada Weston was approved as lead teacher. Keeli Sanderson and Kelsey Moore were approved as Charter School teachers.
In the College of Fine Arts, Daniel Brecht-Haddad was appointed associate professor/associate director of bands and director of the Lumberjack Marching Band. Christina Collins was appointed assistant professor of social work in the College of Liberal and Applied Arts.
In the College of Sciences and Mathematics, Megan Anthony, Cassie Barr, Yesenia Cabral, Sherrie Fontenot, Casie Rogers and Tammye Willis were approved as clinical instructors of nursing. Brian Church, Vinh Dang and Jacob Pratscher were appointed assistant professors of mathematics and statistics. Mindy Wurtz was approved as clinical instructor of JacksTeach.
Kristin Bangston and Ashley Chandler were appointed program directors in the Academic Assistance and Research Center. April Place and Destini Walker were appointed career coordinators in the Center for Career and Professional Development.
Gerald Hook and Marc Lishewski were approved as development officers for the university. Javier Franco was approved as learning experience design specialist in the Center for Teaching and Learning.
In athletics, regents appointed Austin Cox and Timothy Bleil as athletics team operations coordinators, Robert Hansen as head coach for cross country and Erin Mills as women’s basketball assistant coach. Dalonte Hill and Tanner Smith were appointed men’s basketball assistant coaches. Anthony Jasick was appointed men’s basketball assistant head coach.
Carrie Charley, former director of auxiliary services was approved as executive director of campus living, dining and auxiliary enterprises. The promotion of Donna Hammond from assistant director to associate director of residence life was approved, and hall directors Jamyia Barrett, Robert Carpenter, Jamaica Ethington, and Christopher Ruth, were approved as area coordinators.
In the Physical Plant, John Branch, associate director, was approved as interim director, and Matthew Roming, senior safety officer, was approved as operations analyst.
Nathan Hendrix was approved as director of Student Rights and Responsibilities, and in the Title IX area, Rachel Pierce, a former UPD officer, and Kacee Garner were named compliance specialists. Melissa Turner, a compliance specialist, was approved as interim Title IX coordinator.
Hollie Smith, assistant dean of students, was approved as executive director of student affairs, and Lacey Folsom, director of student engagement, was approved as interim director of student rights and responsibilities.
In information technology services, regents approved Erik Herrera as programmer analyst, Justin Mlinar as programmer/analyst II and Robert Williams, programmer analyst III.

Regents honored the following retiring faculty members with the professor emeritus title: Fred Allen, David Campo, Charles Gavin and Andrew Parr, music; Richard Jones, theatre; Addison (Buddy) Himes, dean of the College of Fine Arts; and Pauline Sampson, dean of research and graduate studies. Regents approved the retirements in the College of Sciences and Mathematics, including Deborah Dunn and Elizabeth Hutchison, computer science; Ali Piran, physics, engineering and astronomy; and Susan Ballard, Regina Brown, Karen Migl, Rose Powell and Dorothy Selman, nursing.
In the Perkins College of Education, regents approved the retirements of Lisa Stone, advising center; Glen McCuller, education studies; Susan Casey, Steven Josephsen and Kimberly Welsh, elementary education; Frankie Jo Clark, human services; and Patricia Berthot and David Pistole, kinesiology and health science.
Regents approved retirements in the Rusche College of Business, including Esther Bunn, accounting; Marsha Bayless, business communication and legal studies; and Joe Ballenger, Cathy Henderson and Elton Scifres, management, marketing and international business.

Approved retirements in the College of Liberal and Applied Arts include Robert Szafran, anthropology, geography and sociology; Deborah Bush and Rebecca Crain, English and creative writing; Troy Davis, history; Alan Greule, mass communications; and Sam Copeland and Peter Simbi, social work.
Other retirements approved included Joan Taylor, Center for Teaching and Learning; Pamela Corman and Dannette Sales, controller’s office; Jill Milem, counseling services; Ethel Gallant, disability services; Adela Espinosa and Brendan Walsh, financial aid; John Muckleroy, general services; Merry Anne Bright and Julia Farrell, health services; Rena Coats, Kenneth Langham and David Moore, housing operations; Pamela Brown Williams, library; Howard Smith, physical plant; Debra Turnham, procurement; Lynda Langham, registrar; Carla Chumley, residence life operations; and Robert Henderson, telecommunications and networking.