NACOGDOCHES, Texas — During its quarterly meeting, the Stephen F. Austin State University board of regents recognized student, faculty and staff achievements, as well as approved faculty and staff appointments.

Special Recognitions
The board recognized staff members in the Office of Research and Graduate Studies as well as research librarians in the Steen Library for all they do to support student and faculty member research at SFA.

“They represent the supporting line, and some are on the front line, too,” said Dr. Lorenzo Smith, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. “Your work is essential, your work is appreciated, and I just want to thank you for all you do for SFA and the Office of Research and Graduate Studies. You are making a huge difference.”

Smith also recognized Dr. Emiliano Giudici, economics and finance professor, for receiving the 2022 Faculty Mentor of the Year award during the Undergraduate Research Conference. 

Dr. Michara DeLaney-Fields, chief diversity officer, recognized the newest diversity ambassadors. These students complete a certification program that gives them the skills and knowledge to help create an inclusive environment at SFA. 

The University Police Department was recognized for receiving its International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators accreditation, which it achieved in 1.5 years instead of the usual three years. 

In SFA Athletics, Nissi Kabongo, a psychology senior from Plano and member of the women’s track and field team, was recognized for several of her honors, including being named NCAA All-American athlete twice, Western Athletic Conference 2022 indoor track and field female athlete of the year, and June Irwin SFA female athlete of the year twice. The board also recognized the SFA bowling team for earning runner-up at the 2022 National Collegiate Athletic Association Bowling Championships. 

Faculty, Staff Appointments
The regents approved faculty and staff promotions and appointments, as well as granted tenure to three faculty members effective immediately.

In the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, regents appointed Evan Hoefelmeyer as beef farm supervisor.

In the College of Liberal and Applied Arts, Dr. Dustin Knepp was named dean and awarded tenure.

In the College of Sciences and Mathematics, regents named Dr. Matthew Beauregard chair of the Department of Computer Science and appointed Corina Rivera as outreach coordinator in the STEM Research and Learning Center. Regents also awarded tenure to Dr. Rickey McDaniel and named him professor and chair of the Department of Physics, Engineering and Astronomy.

In the James I. Perkins College of Education, regents promoted Alyssa Landreneaux from SFA Charter School teacher to lecturer and assessment coordinator in the Department of Education Studies, and Dr. Chay Runnels was named director of the School of Human Sciences. Dr. Brittany McCreary was appointed as clinical instructor and training director of school psychology in the Department of Human Services and Educational Leadership, and Tyler Tucker was appointed as Charter School teacher. Dr. Jannah Nerren was awarded tenure and appointed professor and chair of the Department of Education Studies.

In the Micky Elliott College of Fine Arts, regents named Dr. Nathan Nabb director of the School of Music and appointed Gregory Condon as technical director in the School of Theatre and Dance.

H. Rachele’ Garrett, director of the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships, is serving as interim executive director of enrollment management; Dr. Leslie Cecil, professor of anthropology, geography and sociology, is serving as interim associate dean of ORGS; and Dr. Sheryll Jerez, professor of environmental science, is serving as interim dean of ORGS.

Mary Ann Rojas was appointed as executive director of the Center for Applied Research and Rural Innovation, Rachel McCorry as counselor in Counseling Services, Heather Jones as assistant director in Disability Services, Morgan Pulliam as assistant director in Student Engagement, and Dakota Steele as area coordinator in Residence Life.

Veronica Beavers was named deputy chief diversity officer in the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, and Kimberly Lee was promoted from coordinator of events services to assistant director of conferences and events in the Baker Pattillo Student Center.

In addition, Susan Morris was promoted from Charter School secretary to interior designer in the Office of Procurement and Business Services, April Place was promoted from coordinator to assistant director in the Center for Career and Professional Development, and Rebekah Raney was promoted from admissions coordinator in the Office of International Programs to compliance coordinator in ORGS.

In the Department of Athletics, Brynn Baca was appointed as softball assistant coach, Richard Bruister as softball head coach, Kwajual Jones as men’s basketball operations coordinator, Christina May as softball assistant coach, Hunter Overholt as social digital media program director, Amanda Paver as strategic communications assistant director, Allison Ray as women’s basketball operations coordinator, Eric Stephens as football assistant coach, and Christine Wakefield as women’s soccer assistant coach.

Hadrien Choukroun was promoted from track and field assistant coach to track and field/cross-country co-head coach. John Faulkner was promoted from compliance coordinator to program director of compliance and risk mitigation, and Robert Hansen was promoted from cross-country head coach to track and field/cross-country co-head coach.

In Information Technology Services, Andrew Campbell was promoted from private-branch exchange technician for telecommunication and networking to PBX technician for academics, and Toni Wagar was promoted from technology support specialist II for telecommunication and networking to systems programmer I.

Lastly, regents approved the retirements of Deborah Allen, Steen Library business manager; Dr. Sara Bishop, associate professor of nursing; and Dr. Sylvia Middlebrook, associate professor of psychology.