NACOGDOCHES, Texas – The Percussion Ensemble at Stephen F. Austin State University will perform works by Austin Franklin, Michael Burritt, Nathan Daughtrey and other percussionists in a concert at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 3, in Cole Concert Hall on the SFA campus.
Under the direction of Dr. Brad Meyer, the ensemble will open the concert with Franklin’s “The Theory of Motion,” described as “an illusory experience and experiment in rhythm that combines elements from jazz, progressive rock, and several post-tonal techniques and genres to create a kaleidoscope of rhythmic development and groove.” The piece draws inspiration from flowing and dynamic forces of nature and mechanical and rigid forces of machines, according to Franklin.
Burritt’s “spero” will feature music student Marshall Oman as soloist. “Spero” means “hope” in Latin and comes from the phrase “dum siro, spero,” or “when I breathe, I hope.” The piece features muted tenor drum and snare drum in addition to cajon.
Other works on the program include “Springs” by Paul Lansky; “Do You Ever Listen” by Aaron Graham; “Cyclone” by Jim Casella, a work inspired by an expedition of friends to climb Mount Everest; and Daughtrey’s “Power Struggle,” dedicated to the Lincoln-Way Central High School percussion ensemble.
Tickets are $8 for adults, $6 for seniors and $3 for students and youth. To purchase tickets, call the SFA Fine Arts Box Office at (936) 468-6407 or visit the box office website. For additional information, contact the SFA School of Music at (936) 468-4602.