The Texas legislature eliminated funding to higher education institutions for undergraduate students enrolled in courses that are attempted three or more times. An attempted course is any course in which a grade is earned, a repeated course, or a course dropped after the official reporting day.
Students attempting a course for the third or more time will be required to pay an additional $200 per semester credit hour for the repeated course (for example, a three-hour course will cost $600 more). In assessing this charge, courses attempted at any other Texas public college or university will be considered. This applies to transfer credits and courses attempted more than twice at any Texas higher education public institution.
3-Peat Tuition won't be applied to attempted hours if the repeated hours are:
- up to 18 hours of remedial or TSI foundational/support courses
- special topics and seminar courses that may be taken for additional credit toward a degree
- courses that involve different or more advanced content each time they are taken, including:
- individual music lessons,
- workforce education courses
- manual special topic courses (when the topics change)
- theater practicum
- music performance
- certain physical education
- kinesiology courses
- studio art
- independent study courses
- courses taken prior to fall 2002
A student may be exempted from payment of higher tuition for any course repeated in the final semester or term before graduation if the course is taken for the purpose of receiving a grade that will satisfy a degree requirement. This exemption applies only for the student's final semester and doesn't affect the university's ability to charge a higher tuition rate for courses that cannot be reported for funding for other reasons, such as the excess credit hour limit. To be exempted from payment of higher tuition for any course repeated in the final semester or term before graduation, students should submit a fiscal appeal within 60 days of the last day of the semester in which they graduate. Once the fiscal appeal has been approved, the student will be reimbursed for the 3-Peat fees paid during their final semester that satisfy degree requirements as long as the student's bill is paid in full; otherwise, the 3-Peat fees will be credited to the outstanding balance.
Note: Students who are subject to both Excessive Undergraduate Credit Hours and the 3-Peat Tuition will not be penalized twice. They will only pay an additional $200 per semester credit hour for those courses.